Quick Start Breakfast Drink Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I thought this had a nice flavor. Only issues, was I thought it was a tad thin. I even used frozen strawberries and fruit, so I was surprised by that. Only thing I did different was make 1/2 recipe and it made 2 large or 3 small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Very quick and easy to make! Really good too. I think next time I will freeze my fruit so it's extra cold when I make it. I was able to sneak the wheat germ in and nobody knew it was there too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Yummy breakfast! The only change I made was to omit the yogurt because I wanted to be thinner. My frozen bananas already made it thick enough. I also added a couple of ice cubes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
super quick and easy. great flavor. add any fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Delicious! Perfect for a "quick" breakfast! I froze my fruit and used fresh pineapple juice. I love ways to incorporate wheat germ and this was really good - definitely fresh and fruity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Left out wheat germ because I didn't have any. Next time I will add wheat germ and I think some ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlj1109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
omg i cant wait to make more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
It was alright, but the wheat germ was very strong. I may try it again, but use less or substitute oatmeal. It was also thinner than I usually like, I may try using the ice that others suggested. It looked like it makes a lot so I cut the recipe by half right away and it was a good amount for my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious and refreshing!! Everyone loved this. Beware- this recipe consumes the entire blender. It stored nicely, though, in a tupperware beverage container that I have. I made this exactly as stated in the recipe first and it was crowded, but wonderful. After the first 2 glasses were poured, I had room so I decided to try adding ice as some had suggested. It didn't really thicken it, but it did dilute the wonderful flavor a bit. I liked that it was a bit colder, but it was nice and cold after being in the refrigerator without diluting the flavor. I would suggest trying it (maybe only half of the recipe) first and refrigerate some to taste later, too. I liked the consistency as it was, but if you want it a bit thicker, instead of watering down the flavor, add more banana, yogurt, or strawberry to suit your taste preference. Using frozen banana might even help to thicken it. Be creative, but I don't think you should water it down which is ultimately what happens when you add ice. By the way, I did not have any wheat germ and didn't want any, so I did not put any into this drink. This was so wonderful, but so very simple to make. Thank you for posting this recipe! This is one to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Excellent drink!!! Nutritional and tasty. My husband and I usually have this for breakfast about three times a week. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Breakfast in Bangkok

This healthy carrot and apple juice features a tasty Thai twist.

Breakfast Zinger Juice

Use your juicer to make a super-healthy drink with beets, carrots, and apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States