Quick Start Breakfast Drink Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This is soooo delicious! I ran out of pineapple juice one day and used cherry juice; both ways were equally tasty. This is a breakfast I feel good about eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
after drinking this i was set. i think my next meal was ariund 2 pm. great drink, and it is good for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Yum! This makes a great smoothie, and the servings are quite large - very filling and a great start to the day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Very Good!!! And the kids LOVE it which is the biggest bonus! I didnot use any wheat germ, I will try someday, I have to take one step at a time with healthy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
LOVED THIS! I cut the recipe in half and added about a cup of ice cubes to the blender. I used half pineapple juice and half orange juice. Great way to add in the wheat germ, it works perfectly with this! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Excellent drink!!! Nutritional and tasty. My husband and I usually have this for breakfast about three times a week. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious and refreshing!! Everyone loved this. Beware- this recipe consumes the entire blender. It stored nicely, though, in a tupperware beverage container that I have. I made this exactly as stated in the recipe first and it was crowded, but wonderful. After the first 2 glasses were poured, I had room so I decided to try adding ice as some had suggested. It didn't really thicken it, but it did dilute the wonderful flavor a bit. I liked that it was a bit colder, but it was nice and cold after being in the refrigerator without diluting the flavor. I would suggest trying it (maybe only half of the recipe) first and refrigerate some to taste later, too. I liked the consistency as it was, but if you want it a bit thicker, instead of watering down the flavor, add more banana, yogurt, or strawberry to suit your taste preference. Using frozen banana might even help to thicken it. Be creative, but I don't think you should water it down which is ultimately what happens when you add ice. By the way, I did not have any wheat germ and didn't want any, so I did not put any into this drink. This was so wonderful, but so very simple to make. Thank you for posting this recipe! This is one to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Delicious! Perfect for a "quick" breakfast! I froze my fruit and used fresh pineapple juice. I love ways to incorporate wheat germ and this was really good - definitely fresh and fruity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very nice smoothie. I found this while trying to find a fruit salad for all of the fruit we have in the house. I didn't find a fruit salad but I found this and thought I'd give it a shot since it's just me this morning and I was going to only have toast. I scaled it to one serving and it still is a lot. I rarely have smoothies and even rarely make them myself, so I thought it would be a nice change. I used my food processor (no blender) and I don't have pineapple juice, so I used peach nectar. The rest of the ingredients I had and they work well together. Very nice smoothy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
A bit tart, but delicious! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Breakfast in Bangkok

This healthy carrot and apple juice features a tasty Thai twist.

Breakfast Zinger Juice

Use your juicer to make a super-healthy drink with beets, carrots, and apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States