Quick Spinach-Ricotta Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
My husband really liked them. I used pizza dough because I had it made already and they turned out fine. I used a little bit more cheese b/c I wanted to finish it off, but he said he would have them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Good calzone recipe for this beginner! This recipe was my intro to making calzone, and I have made it 4-5x. Like several other reviewers, I made my own pizza dough, mainly to save money and have simpler ingredients; once I commit to making it-it's easy. Made enough dough for two pizzas, to be sure to have enough for all the delicious filling in this recipe. The nutmeg is great in it; subtle but there. Have made them the mini-size in this recipe and also larger. Had a little problem with overly thick crust and overfilling; nothing to do with this recipe but watch for that if you are new to calzones. Big hit with friends and family! So tasty we didn't even bother dipping them in marinara sauce most of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
My boyfriend & I made this recipe a week or so ago, and it was great. The dinner rolls work great as a casing! I made it again yesterday, only I used broccoli (chopped up & sauteed with the onions) and pepperoni, and I added more salt & pepper and put in a little rosemary as well. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I love this recipe. I was able to freeze 1/2 of the calzones for another dinner. I did use pizza dough instead of dinner rolls..much easier. I also added some italian sausage to hide the spinach taste for DH. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The first words out of my husband's mouth, "this is delicious!" Within minutes he was ready for another serving. I used thin crust pizza dough and will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv26.2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Time consuming but good. I added some browned italian sausage to half of them because my husband doesn't consider it a meal if there is no meat involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Very good, it took a while but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was a great and quick way to make calzones. My daughter is a Vegetarian and this was a great recipe for her. I will make it next time and make half vegetarian and my husband wants some italian sausage added. This is a very versitile way to make what every one wants ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickieL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Made my own dough by hand (used Pizza Dough I recipe, actually) and made two large calzones out of this. I added about 1/4 c of italian tomato sauce to give some more flavor to the filling but left everything the same otherwise. REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I'm at odds with this recipe. I searched high and low for 11.3 oz canned rolls, but came up empty. I settled for a 10 oz can and bought two. Try as I might, the biggest circles I could roll with those things was 5". Even then they were very thin. I could only use a rounded tablespoon of the filling in each one. These were very tasty, but I have more than half the filling leftover after using one can of the rolls. I'm planning to use the other can to make 10 more, but I'll probably still have filling after that. I can't imagine that 8 rolls from an 11.3 oz can could possibly hold all of the filling. These do taste good, but if I make them again I'll make a pizza dough for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States