Quick Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My kids & I agree that our old standby - seasoned rice vinegar & toasted sesame oil - is still our favorite Asian green bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
A great alternative to plain green beans with butter! The sesame seeds were the perfect accompaniment. Also added 1 Tbsp sesame oil to the sauce. Next time I will steam them longer, since we don't like our beans quite so crisp. I used my Oster steamer for 8 minutes but will probably steam for 15 minutes next time. The red pepper adds an unexpected but delicious kick, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Mmm, mmm, mmm... I left out the miso paste and added 1/2 tsp of sesame oil. It made a huge difference in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I would definitely not stray from using fresh green beans. If you are a green bean lover the sesame is a nice taste with them. My husband didnt care for it very much but I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We used broccolini instead of green beans and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hipchickrecords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
These are delicious! Very simple to make and I'm glad to have a new use for miso paste. I will definitely make these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I'm not big on fresh green beans, but if they are served like this, I'll eat them any time. These were fantastic. Just enough flavoring. I fed this to my 2 year old niece and she ate it up like candy. She even asked for seconds. I did cut back on the red pepper flakes for her sake, but I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Wow! I was also looking for a recipe like I get at my favourite Chinese restaraunt. These were great. I tried suteeing the garlic once, but found it didn't quite pack the same punch. My dad will make dinner for us, but asks me to do the sauce for the green beans. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Miso paste is sold in a little tub, in the cold section of the grocery store, where tofu or health food is found. The miso paste gives the sauce some body and helps with coating the beans. Four cloves of garlic is way too much. I used two, and thought it was more than enough. A good recipe and a nice change for the normal green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Seems like all my wife ever wants is canned green beans. So one night I served this and she loved it! If you are looking for something different from the same old beans try this! Good luck trying to find the miso though. Takes great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mjstrain56

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States