Quick Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was a last-minute decision and I didn't have fresh green beans, so I just used canned. (blush) Heated them on the stovetop. In separate pan, toasted the sesame seeds; set aside. Used same pan to saute garlic in a tiny bit of olive oil & an even tinier touch of sesame oil. In separate bowl, mixed soy sauce, red pepper flakes, sauteed garlic, freshly grated ginger and poured over drained green beans. Added toasted sesame seeds in just before serving. It was a nice side dish for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Good tip about cooking the garlic. Nice flavor. Didn't have miso paste and used regular soy sauce. Would make again. Dresses up greenbeans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Yummy! It was too spicey for the kids but the adults like it. Next time I will not add as much red pepper so everyone can enjoy it. Unfortunately my grocery store unfortunately did not have miso paste. Next time I will be sure to find it somewhere. Great addition to the Grilled Salmon I from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I couldn't find miso paste so made without it. These were delicious. My family loves garlic and ginger, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
The recipe is probably great if you follow the directions. It is very important to use low-sodium soy sauce like it states. I had regular soy sauce on hand, and the only miso paste I found in the store had added sea salt (I don't know if this is typical). The result was so salty that I couldn't finish it. It was even too much for my boyfriend, who puts salt on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I really like this recipe. I agree, 4 cloves of garlic is a lot even though I like garlic a lot. I would like to try it with cooked garlic but didn't this time. I also added a bit of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I added an extra measure of red pepper flakes.. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Slinger, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tremonton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I am not a very good cook and I prepared this with frozen green beans and steamed until boiled dry.This was the most delicious side dish .I couldn't believe I prepared it myself.I am also serving this with the Aussie Chicken for my daughters rehearsal dinner.Follow steps and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These were good. The recipe didn't say anything about cooking the garlic--4 raw minced cloves would have been too much for me--so I sauteed the garlic in a little bit of oil, mixed in the rest of the ingredients and let it simmer before adding the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-99 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States