Quick Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I see that at least one reviewer couldn't find Bob Evans brand mashed potatoes so tried to substitute dry potato flakes. The Bob Evans potatoes are already prepared, all you have to do is heat them up, so of course the recipe won't turn out if you just use potato flakes. You could either substitute 24 ounces of homemade mashed potatoes, or 24 ounces of another brand of pre-made mashed potatoes (I know Country Crock sells them in a little tub where the rest of the refrigerated foods are). Or you could try to cook up 24 ounces of potato flakes (so that the flakes plus milk, water and butter equal 24 ounces- not just 24 ounces of flakes, that would be way too much), then proceed with this recipe by adding the small amount of milk, egg and other ingredients. I hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by sassafras76
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe was not only yummy--I won a trophy for it! "Best Classic Hotdish". I followed the advice of other cooks and doubled the meat. Also--try adding rye bread croutons on the top, and serve with a side of Russian dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassafras76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I also did not have the required mash potatoes on hand, but i did use the potatoe o'brien (the pre diced ones.) i left the eggs out(dont like eggs and left the milk out)pretty much did everything else the same. I layered potatoes on bottom i mixed up a dijon mustard spread that next and then a layer of cheese a layer of cut up reuben, layer of kraut and started over again layering. Then finished with cheese. Baked as directed and oh my god, it was delish, i plan on making it this way again. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Really tasty. I loved it just the way it was. However, my husband would've preferred a little more corned beef. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe was very easy to make and tasted great as well. I actually like the mashed potato in this one as opposed to the bread in some of the other ones. The only thing I did was add a little extra corn beef, otherwise I made it exactly the way it says and it turned out FANTASTIC. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
It was a good basic recipe. It was hard to find the potatoes so I used hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe was great, we loved it! I might use a little more meat next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great. Canned corned beef works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
followed exactly but next time I will add more cornbeef... other than drizzling it with thousand island dressing before eating it was good and better if served with a loaf of dark rye bread... will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Sorry, my family did not think this was that great. I followed the recipe exact other than adding 1 lb. of corned beef cut up and it still was not that great. We prefer the traditional Reuben sandwiches. Good idea for a quick meal just not that great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States