Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This past summer, my mom gave me a huge bag of fresh jalapenos she'd grown in her garden. Being a lover of pickled jalapenos, I found this recipe. Chef John has never let me down (I love all of his recipes!) so this is the one I chose. I will admit, I had some trepidation over the addition of oregano, but I'm so glad I left it in. The oregano added just a little touch of flavor that made these rings special. I washed and sliced all of the jalapenos, leaving all of the veins and seeds in, as I like em' hot. I then cleaned the garlic cloves and gave them a rough chop, leaving them in fairly large chunks. As other reviewers did, I simply dropped the garlic in the bottom of the jar, then loaded the jalapeno rings on top, leaving about 1 1/2 inches of clearance from the top of the jar. After cooking my vinegar mixture, I poured it into the jar, just covering the jalapenos. I left them on the counter to cool for about an hour, then popped them in the fridge. I was so excited to try them, that I only waited about 3-4 days before breaking the seal. Holy moley, were those puppies HOT!!! So, I put the lid back on and popped them back in the fridge. After about 2 weeks, the sugar, true to form, had calmed the heat down. I have since bought another batch of jalapenos at the grocery and made another couple jars since the first jar was gone in like 4 days. What an incredible recipe. Chef John does it again! Make these NOW and don't change a thing about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Great use for the two large bags of jalapenos that came in our CSA box. Very easy, kept well in the fridge and were delightfully hot! And I highly recommend wearing a pair of rubber gloves, taking out your contacts later might be painful otherwise :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Easy and fast. I wasn't sure how oregano would taste in this recipe, but it isn't overpowering at all. I left out the sugar just because I didn't think it needed it, and also to make it healthier. Glad I did, because it tastes great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haslet, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I also tried these with hot banana peppers and it worked just as well. I fill the jars with the peppers then pour the boiling liquid over them and that works just fine. I also cut back on the sugar I only used 1 tablespoon and they were exactly the way we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SamanthaT
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I just made theses and they're still warm. I used jalapenos from my garden and they tastes great. I have been intimidated by the canning process so this quick pickling process was a great find. Thank you! I will be making them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These were Fabulous!! Other than poking out some of the white pith on the majority of the slices, I followed this exactly. Crunchy and not too hot. (Use big peppers) I will make these MANY times over! Yum! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECCALOYA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe couldn't be easier. Based on another reviewer's suggestion, I use only 1 tablespoon of sugar in order to keep more of the spice. They turn out tangy, spicy and delicious - way better than store-bought jalapenos! Just a note that the garlic reacts with the vinegar and turns an ugly blue, so if you see something that looks like mold, don't worry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My husband loved these! I used 1/2 the amount of salt and they turned out great! Thanks for the recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Smells amazing when you open the jar. I hope these last longer than a few days. I used on nachos last night. Very nice. Thank you Chef John. I am a big fan of yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I will never buy pickled peppers again. Who knew it was that easy? Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lee Newsome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States