Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Pickled jalapeno rings are one of my most favorite things. I've always wanted to learn how to make them--this recipe made it possible. I added some crushed red pepper, that was the only change I made. I did not add the jalapeno peppers to the saucepan, I went ahead and put them in the canning jar and once the vinegar mixture came to a boil, I poured it over the peppers in the jar, put a lid on it and let it sit like that for ten minutes before refrigerating. I have not used them yet as I want them to sit in the vinegar for a week or two to really get good. I'll update my review once I've had a chance to try them. Five stars for this recipe for just being awesome. I am so tickled I could make my own. VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Everything I was looking for! Easy, quick, and after 4 weeks, very tasty! Can't wait to put these on everything :) Just two quick notes: (1) I put this batch in 4 pint sizes, and I think as a result I was short on the liquid mixture in the end. I ended up boiling some water in the microwave really quick and mixing with a dash of vinegar, but next time I will increase the liquid by half to make sure I have plenty. (2) I was pretty pessimistic about the oregano - not a big fan. But I followed the recipe exactly despite my misgivings and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This couldn't get any easier, thank you! I absolutely love Jalapenos and pickled vegetables so this was a win-win for me. Absolutey delicious after ten minutes and I am sure after a week they will even be better. I can't wait to make some tasty nachos for the boys next weekend! Thank you Chef John....AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Quick and easy! Also very good. I added some carrots, onions, and bell peppers I had around as well. Just doubled the recipe to account for the need for more liquid. Just don't wear gloves when handling the jalapenos if you plan on removing contact lenses from your eyes later that day. OUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Super Easy and Fast! Taste great! This is a great recipe if you have an abundance of jalapeno's every year from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Super easy! I only made one slight change - I didn't have any oregano on hand, so I omitted it. It still had a great flavor! This makes 2 'jelly' sized jars full (not the tiny, squatty jars, but the small ones with decorative sides) if you use large enough jalapenos. A great 'starter' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Great and easy recipe. These rings are definitely better than what you buy in the store. I made this with home grown jalapenos, which are definitely much hotter than store bought ones. The only modification I made was adding more garlic, since I'm a garlic fiend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Quinn
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
These are fantastic! I learned a lot from viewing the video for this recipe on foodwishes.com. I used jalapenos from my garden - about 13 of them and this with the amount of brine here made a 1 pink jar. I have eaten them in salads, burritos, on nachos and just solo. I will make again and again! Thank you so much for posting Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is an excellent recipe, as is. I have made it a couple of times now, adding bite size pieces of onion and bell peppers, to fit the chips (actually, reduced fat triscuits) I use for nachos. I won't be buying the ready made jars of slice jalapenos anymore. It's couldn't be much easier. Thnx Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were a hit! very easy,only made 3 pints. I did replace oregano with pickling spice instead as my family does not like oregano, and used apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States