Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Oh wow!this recipe is so super easy and fast! Just tried them after a few weeks ... So good! I'll definitely be planting more jalepeno plants next year. No need to buy store brought ever again. Tried both with and without garlic and I couldn't really tell much difference. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NVGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This past summer, my mom gave me a huge bag of fresh jalapenos she'd grown in her garden. Being a lover of pickled jalapenos, I found this recipe. Chef John has never let me down (I love all of his recipes!) so this is the one I chose. I will admit, I had some trepidation over the addition of oregano, but I'm so glad I left it in. The oregano added just a little touch of flavor that made these rings special. I washed and sliced all of the jalapenos, leaving all of the veins and seeds in, as I like em' hot. I then cleaned the garlic cloves and gave them a rough chop, leaving them in fairly large chunks. As other reviewers did, I simply dropped the garlic in the bottom of the jar, then loaded the jalapeno rings on top, leaving about 1 1/2 inches of clearance from the top of the jar. After cooking my vinegar mixture, I poured it into the jar, just covering the jalapenos. I left them on the counter to cool for about an hour, then popped them in the fridge. I was so excited to try them, that I only waited about 3-4 days before breaking the seal. Holy moley, were those puppies HOT!!! So, I put the lid back on and popped them back in the fridge. After about 2 weeks, the sugar, true to form, had calmed the heat down. I have since bought another batch of jalapenos at the grocery and made another couple jars since the first jar was gone in like 4 days. What an incredible recipe. Chef John does it again! Make these NOW and don't change a thing about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Great use for the two large bags of jalapenos that came in our CSA box. Very easy, kept well in the fridge and were delightfully hot! And I highly recommend wearing a pair of rubber gloves, taking out your contacts later might be painful otherwise :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Easy and fast. I wasn't sure how oregano would taste in this recipe, but it isn't overpowering at all. I left out the sugar just because I didn't think it needed it, and also to make it healthier. Glad I did, because it tastes great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haslet, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I also tried these with hot banana peppers and it worked just as well. I fill the jars with the peppers then pour the boiling liquid over them and that works just fine. I also cut back on the sugar I only used 1 tablespoon and they were exactly the way we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SamanthaT
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I just made theses and they're still warm. I used jalapenos from my garden and they tastes great. I have been intimidated by the canning process so this quick pickling process was a great find. Thank you! I will be making them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These were Fabulous!! Other than poking out some of the white pith on the majority of the slices, I followed this exactly. Crunchy and not too hot. (Use big peppers) I will make these MANY times over! Yum! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECCALOYA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe couldn't be easier. Based on another reviewer's suggestion, I use only 1 tablespoon of sugar in order to keep more of the spice. They turn out tangy, spicy and delicious - way better than store-bought jalapenos! Just a note that the garlic reacts with the vinegar and turns an ugly blue, so if you see something that looks like mold, don't worry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My husband loved these! I used 1/2 the amount of salt and they turned out great! Thanks for the recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Smells amazing when you open the jar. I hope these last longer than a few days. I used on nachos last night. Very nice. Thank you Chef John. I am a big fan of yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Benner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States