Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
These are the best I have ever eaten. My husband loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This recipe is excellent and so easy. I never could get the exact amount of ingredients to make my eggs taste really good. The cinnamon adds a special touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very good. The recipe says 4 hours, but by then only the outside of the egg is pickled. Wait 3-4 days if you like them purple to the core.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I have been making pickled eggs for years as an Easter tradition. I wanted to try something different this year and I am so glad I did! This is by far better than my old recipe. The sugar adds a nice touch. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Like everyone else out there, I'm desperately trying to come up with things to do with hard boiled eggs! I knew this would put a spark in hubby's taste buds as loves beets and he loves eggs. You can imagine how happy I was to find this recipe. The only thing I left out was the cinammon. As I expected, he loved this Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
These are yummy. I increased the vingear to 3/4 cup, decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup, and added a small sliced onion to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I found this recipe while searching for ways to use fresh beets from my garden. The beets are delicious and just different enough from my canned pickled beets that the change is refreshing. The cinnamon is perfect. I made deviled eggs out of the eggs. Very tasty, but next time I will leave any vinegar or lemon juice out of the yolk filling, as the outside has enough of that taste. The deviled eggs were quite eye-catching! Deep purple, fluffy yellow filling, green parsley sprinkled on top. But you do need to pickle them about 4 days for the eggs to "purple" all the way through to the yolk. To use fresh beets: Wash beets, leaving roots intact, and cut the tops, leaving two inches at beet. Barely cover with water, and simmer till tender. Drain. Cool, and slip the skins off the beets. Slice as desired. You will need about 1-1/2 cups sliced beets and about 1/2 cup for what would have been in a can of beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This is a great simple recipe. I did not use the cinnamon and took the advice of another reviewer and let them set 4 days. The only thing I will change next time is the amount of sugar. It was too sweet for my taste. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Very easy and very good. Next time I will add just a bit more vinegar since I like a little more "bite". Now, I can keep these on hand and won't have to buy one or two at a time while at the deli counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
The recipe was very easy. I don't like pickled eggs, but I made them for my husband who thought they were pretty good. I agree that they need to refrigerate for a couple of days for the color to set in more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States