Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This recipe has been pasted down for generations in my family. Awesome! However, eggs and beets should marinate 3 days for best flavor. The egg white is purple but the yolk remains yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PersnicketyPT
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe brought back memories of growing up in Pennsylvania Dutch country. The eggs taste just as I remember them - great. As I was making them, my husband looked at me like I was nuts (he grew in AZ, what can I say); but after he tasted them he also agreed they were very tasty. I can see these are going to become a frequent addition to our diet. I did omit the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, but opted out of the cinnamon, and they were yummy! Just as I expect pickled eggs to be. I took them to Easter and others enjoyed them as well. I made mine Friday night and let them sit until Sunday, stirring every once in a while to make sure they evenly purpled :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
It's Easter and time for pickled eggs in my house. I could not find my recipe so I had to find another one similar to mine and came upon this one. I don't use cinnamon in my pickled eggs and like to add sliced onions and found I had to double up on the vinegar but the deep purple color and the taste was a hit with my family. I have already added this recipe to my recipe collection. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Try replacing cinnamon with 1 tbls. of Pickling Spice. Add slivered onion. Works very well with the eggs especially and doesn't undermine the beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I also grew up eating these. They are wonderful! I do not add sugar or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Love pickled eggs. Grew up eating them at holidays. The purple color from the beets is fabulous. If you think this sounds gross your wrong, remember it's refrigerated so it's just like a hard boiled or deviled egg. I don't add cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I really liked these eggs. I put a small cinnamon stick in the jar while marinating to add a little more cinnamon taste. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a great pickled egg recipe and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This was the best pickled egg recipe ever! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out fantastic. I have never made them before and it tasted exactly how I wanted them to taste! A+ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States