Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These are so awesome. Kind of like devilled eggs only in reverse (the outside tastes good and the inside tastes normal). When I made these the last time, I used a beautiful antique egg plate that also had a section for relishes. I put the beets in the relish section and the eggs in the devilled egg slots. I usually cut at least one of the eggs open so people can see what they are getting into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These are good. A little too much on the sweet side for me. Next time I might use less sugar and more vinegar. Hubby liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very simple, good results. Uses ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Living In: Toddville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChowHound
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was a great recipe. My father-in-law couldn't believe I was able to make his favorite snack the way he remembered it! The only thing I did not do is put in any cinnamon...otherwise I followed the recipe as written. I will definitely be making these again! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChowHound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I never liked pickled beets, I made them for my husband and I ate the eggs but this recipe is so good I love the beets now. This will be the recipe I'll use from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My husband had pickled beets before but not pickled eggs. He wasn't quite sure about the purple eggs. I only added a pinch of the cinnamon and you can still really taste it. Next time I'll leave it out completely. Oh, he loves purple eggs now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My husband loves pickled eggs so I gave this recipe a try - I increased the vinegar to 3/4 cup and left out the cinnamon. I added a bit of thin sliced red onion when I layered everything into a glass jar with a tight fitting lid. You really have to let these set for at least four days to get that rich deep reddish purple color all the way through to the yolk. These are always great with beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This recipe has been pasted down for generations in my family. Awesome! However, eggs and beets should marinate 3 days for best flavor. The egg white is purple but the yolk remains yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PersnicketyPT
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe brought back memories of growing up in Pennsylvania Dutch country. The eggs taste just as I remember them - great. As I was making them, my husband looked at me like I was nuts (he grew in AZ, what can I say); but after he tasted them he also agreed they were very tasty. I can see these are going to become a frequent addition to our diet. I did omit the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, but opted out of the cinnamon, and they were yummy! Just as I expect pickled eggs to be. I took them to Easter and others enjoyed them as well. I made mine Friday night and let them sit until Sunday, stirring every once in a while to make sure they evenly purpled :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States