Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I really didn't expect this sauce to taste as great as it did- I will never buy another jar of sauce. It cooked faster than the pasta and was a very sweet sauce! I did add some oregano and extra basil. The beauty of this is that you can add anything to it and it's great- I added green pepper, mushrooms (drained), and some italian sausage- perfect for the chunky sauce lover. It was awesome!! Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I used what I had on hand and it was fantastic. 1 can 14.5oz diced tomatoes(w/juice) instead of 28 oz of crushed and 1/4 cup of oil was the only changes I made. I cooked the garlic in the oil and when I poured in the tomatoes I mashed them a little. This is really simple and fresh tasting. Might use fresh basil next time. Great in a pinch. My chicken parm came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
As written, this is pretty bland and watery, imo. However, it is a nice basic recipe that can be improved upon and tweaked to personal preference. Personally, I sautee some chopped onion in olive oil, then add the herbs (regular Italian seasoning), garlic, pepper, a little chicken broth, and the tomatoes. Husband doesn't like chunks of tomato so I usually put the tom's in a bowl and whizz them up a bit with a hand-held blender. If I'm in the mood for a thicker, more robust sauce, I add some tomato paste and more chickie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I'm 15 and I love to cook but I'm not too good with making complex things...This recipe was absolutely excellent!!!!! I made it for lunch and my mom came home and had it and LOVED IT! She took it back to work and everyone wanted the recipe!! It was so easy to make and it was SO good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Quick and easy to make. I had all the stuff and it didn't require a trip to the store, so it gets and extra star for just that reason. I don't know that the taste is anything spectacular. It was good though and my neice who was staying with me when I made it loved the fact that there was no meat in it. I added a little sugar to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was very quick prep and tasty good! I added an additional large can of concentrated crushed tomatoes and 2 teaspoons of ground italian seasonings. Instead of cooking for 20 minutes I cooked for 3 hours on low with a large bay leaf. Added into the sauce I used the Three Animal Meatball recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great, easy recipe. I also added diced green pepper, onion and mushrooms, although I'm sure it tastes great w/o the veggies too. Served this over spaghetti with hot turkey italian sausage and garlic breadsticks on the side.... yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
This is a very good pasta sauce that can be used during the busy weekdays when you get home from work and don't have alot of time. We had it over shells and I added some red pepper flakes to give it some heat, I may add onion the next time also. It's better than any bought sauce and you could add things like mushrooms if you wanted. This will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
This is quick and easy, yet doesn't taste "store bought". You may consider adding some seasonings, such as basil or oregano or some vegetables to make it more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I used what I had on hand and WOW, so good. I used 1 can petite diced tomatoes (w/olive oil & garlic) and one can plain. Also used fresh basil from a tube that I keep in the freezer. We used this sauce over manicotti, with garlic bread, and a salad, a glass of Pinot Grigio...great dish...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States