Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I was quite impressed. I didn't have any of the store bought stuff yesterday, But I did have the ingredients for the recipe on-hand. It was simple straightforward and a very flexible recipe. I used this recipe with some seasoned ground beef, and the end result was a sauce that fit the bill perfectly. Rague, Prego, and all the others as of this post are all officially FIRED! I'll be making my own from now on. Peace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
It was a very good recipe... with onion! I added about 1/4 cup (maybe less it was leftovers from omlets!)and it tasted a ton better. Good starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
If you want quick, this is your recipe. It is better used as an ingredient, rather than the star on top of pasta by itself. I used it with Italian sausages, onions, peppers and fennel--and it was great! I couldn't help but add to it, though -- I used a T of fresh basil, dried oregano, crushed red pepper flakes and a touch of red wine. A good, solid recipe for every cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great, easy recipe. I also added diced green pepper, onion and mushrooms, although I'm sure it tastes great w/o the veggies too. Served this over spaghetti with hot turkey italian sausage and garlic breadsticks on the side.... yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was awesome. I love how simple it is especially after spending hours making other pasta sauces I've seen on this site. And you can really make it your own. I like to add a little bit of diced bacon and some ground beef to give it a meaty taste for my meat-loving boyfriend and we roasted some of our home grown red peppers and threw them in too. Fantastic and it takes no time to make! Cheaper than bottled sauce and by far fresher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I decided to try this when I found out I didn't have any jarred sauce handy. I am glad I did. It truly was "quick." I added some extra seasonings to taste and was quite pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
It won't knock your socks off, but is a good basic sauce recipe. I did tweak it a bit, adding sugar, oregano, and cinnamon for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I loved this, it was quick and easy, just what I needed. The only change I made was that I used sliced tomatoes instead of crushed and increased the cooking time for a thicker, chunkier sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was very quick prep and tasty good! I added an additional large can of concentrated crushed tomatoes and 2 teaspoons of ground italian seasonings. Instead of cooking for 20 minutes I cooked for 3 hours on low with a large bay leaf. Added into the sauce I used the Three Animal Meatball recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Good base recipe. I added my own spices (more garlic, italian seasoning, onion flakes) and some grated cheddar cheese ( didn't have parmesan on hand) and it was excellent. I also added ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States