Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I used diced can tomatoes instead of crushed ones and it was still great! I actually did not think the sauce would be any good so I had some extra store bought sauce just in case but it was actually good. The trick is making sure you put just enough garlic to have flavor but not too much to over power the flavors of the basil and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I loved this. My whole family did. I was surprised by how good it turned out since it was so quick and easy and didn't have many ingredients. I added onions to mine when I sauteed the garlic. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I have never made my own sauce before and looked for a basic one I could make in a pinch. This was soooo easy and tasted great and my favorite part is that it's so much cheaper than jarred sauce. My family loved the flavor of it. Now that I have this basic recipe I'm branching out with adding other herbs and veges. I can now enjoy pasta more than I ever did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Athar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
So easy and so tasty! My husband liked this better than store bought sauce. This is a great base to make whatever kind of sauce you want by adding mushrooms, meat, or bell pepper. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I really liked this recipe; I think it's a really good simple jumping point to making pasta sauce to your own taste :) I made this a few months ago, adding more garlic, basil, oregano, and lots of crushed red pepper flakes (I love my sauces spicy) and it was a really good sauce. I would recommend it to anyone who is just starting to make their own pasta sauces. Best part is I always have almost all of this on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used this to replace pasta sauce in another recipe. If you love sauces with basic tomato flavor, this one is good. I didn't really feel it was awesome on any level. I wouldn't use it again, unless I ran out, like this time. Its not the recipe's fault by any means, its just not dimensional enough for what I use pasta sauce for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Super easy to make, even on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good! Could have even more flavor, but a great starting point with many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by church.lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
For the limited ingredients in this recipe, the sauce was delicious! I made it yesterday and loved how quick and easy it was to put together. It tasted fresh compared to the overly sweet bottled sauces. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Absolutely the best pasta sauce recipe I have ever made and in my 63 years, I have tried a few! I started with sauteing a chopped onion with the garlic (only 2 cloves ) and a little sugar to cut the acidity. Also used fresh basil instead. No salt was necessary either. Used on the Eggplant Parmaesan II recipe. Fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States