Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
What a great basic quick recipe. I was making eggplant parm at the last minute and needed some sauce. I added about a Tbsp of sundried tomatoe paste with the garlic. Then some Muir Glen Organic Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes (14 oz can) along with some Italian dried seasoning. Hey this was so good and quick why keep jar on hand. I'm Italian and my Italian Grandpa had a bakery, then a dinner. This would be good to make ahead and freeze. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
yummy, quick, and i had everything on hand! tBetter than jarred! Has that home cooked from italian restaurant taste, for such little effort! I did add a bit of garlic salt near end of cooking meatsauce b/c it was just a wee bit bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My picky husband loved it! Great fresh taste, much yummier than anything from a jar, quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I also added a few things to this one...1 can paste, green peppers and mushrooms. I used Italian Seasoning and also bought crushed tomatoes with basil. This was quick and easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I used what I had on hand and WOW, so good. I used 1 can petite diced tomatoes (w/olive oil & garlic) and one can plain. Also used fresh basil from a tube that I keep in the freezer. We used this sauce over manicotti, with garlic bread, and a salad, a glass of Pinot Grigio...great dish...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was quite good; not awesome, but since this is maybe the first time I've ever not used jarred or canned sauce, I may stick to homemade from now on. I made it almost exactly as written. I cooked the sauce for the full 20 minutes, but turned the heat down from medium because the sauce was bubbling a lot and spattering my cooktop. The spices here are simple, and doubtless can be improved upon, but for a quick-and-dirty homemade pasta sauce, this was quite a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I added 1 T. sugar (just because!) and used my immersion blender to puree after simmering in the pot - LOVED IT! We like sauce without tomato paste, and this had plenty of flavor and texture without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Quick and tasty. I added a dash of dried crushed red peppers for a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I used diced can tomatoes instead of crushed ones and it was still great! I actually did not think the sauce would be any good so I had some extra store bought sauce just in case but it was actually good. The trick is making sure you put just enough garlic to have flavor but not too much to over power the flavors of the basil and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I loved this. My whole family did. I was surprised by how good it turned out since it was so quick and easy and didn't have many ingredients. I added onions to mine when I sauteed the garlic. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States