Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was the first time I've ever made spaghetti sauce. This was simply delicious. I used a can of San Marzano tomatoes and followed the recipe. It's a bit thin but I didn't mind. My husband suggested that next time I use tomatoes paste to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Added oregano, onion powder and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Super easy and much better than jarred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Loved it. It was simple, easy, quick, and yummy! I added Italian seasoning instead of just basil and I also added Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was really quick and easy to make. I used diced tomatoes and added shallots and a bay leaf to the mix. I smashed the tomatoes with a potato smasher as it cooked to even out the consistency. So much better than store bought any day! And no worries about added sugar and other hidden additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was quick and easy for a starter. I added a small can of tomato paste, half a cup of red wine, half a cup of chicken broth,a little water and italian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is awesome. It is so easy. The key is use good canned tomatoes. I use the Cento brand in a yellow can. I add Italian seasoning along with the basil and a pinch of sugar for a little sweetness that we enjoy in our sauce. This is as close to a fresh made sauce as it gets when you don't have 4-8 hours of sauce cook time. Way better than a jar IMHO. I will make it again when I need a dinner in a hurry. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
It was a good basic sauce. Family loved it. I did use chopped tomatoes (I didn't have crushed on hand) put through the blender a bit. I thought it needed a bit more, maybe paste would be good. I will use this recipe as the base for future sauces but will tweak it to our desired preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this tonight because I ran out of Prego for my lasagna. The most sensitive child noticed a difference but she said it was a good one. I only modified it to make it smell like what I wanted to taste. I added 2tsp sugar and oregano based on what I wanted to taste. I only had powdered basil so I added 1/4tsp to 1/2tsp. Again, it was based on smell. In the end I added graded parm to the sauce after it mixed it in w/the meat. This was a very good quick sauce base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Definitely a good, basic recipe that you can put your own spin on. I added chopped onions & mushrooms but still felt it needed something more. I will play around with this as it is a great base, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
We didn't have any pasta sauce in the house so we whipped this up quickly. Tasted great and probably saved us $1.50!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States