Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Yum! I added Italian sausage and mushrooms and it was GREAT! Even my picky sister loved it! Could use some more spices, but it worked. Amazingly short cook time for such a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
this was so fast and easy! i added some onions in with the garlic and also put in some tomato paste to help thicken it. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzyfoshizzy789

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
good when you don't have much ingredients and time I would say this is a very very basic sauce that you can build and tweak to your liking. I found it to be so so. I won't make it again. at least I can say I've made my own sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Added oregano, onion powder and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Super easy and much better than jarred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Loved it. It was simple, easy, quick, and yummy! I added Italian seasoning instead of just basil and I also added Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was really quick and easy to make. I used diced tomatoes and added shallots and a bay leaf to the mix. I smashed the tomatoes with a potato smasher as it cooked to even out the consistency. So much better than store bought any day! And no worries about added sugar and other hidden additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was quick and easy for a starter. I added a small can of tomato paste, half a cup of red wine, half a cup of chicken broth,a little water and italian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is awesome. It is so easy. The key is use good canned tomatoes. I use the Cento brand in a yellow can. I add Italian seasoning along with the basil and a pinch of sugar for a little sweetness that we enjoy in our sauce. This is as close to a fresh made sauce as it gets when you don't have 4-8 hours of sauce cook time. Way better than a jar IMHO. I will make it again when I need a dinner in a hurry. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
It was a good basic sauce. Family loved it. I did use chopped tomatoes (I didn't have crushed on hand) put through the blender a bit. I thought it needed a bit more, maybe paste would be good. I will use this recipe as the base for future sauces but will tweak it to our desired preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this tonight because I ran out of Prego for my lasagna. The most sensitive child noticed a difference but she said it was a good one. I only modified it to make it smell like what I wanted to taste. I added 2tsp sugar and oregano based on what I wanted to taste. I only had powdered basil so I added 1/4tsp to 1/2tsp. Again, it was based on smell. In the end I added graded parm to the sauce after it mixed it in w/the meat. This was a very good quick sauce base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States