Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was quick and easy for a starter. I added a small can of tomato paste, half a cup of red wine, half a cup of chicken broth,a little water and italian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is awesome. It is so easy. The key is use good canned tomatoes. I use the Cento brand in a yellow can. I add Italian seasoning along with the basil and a pinch of sugar for a little sweetness that we enjoy in our sauce. This is as close to a fresh made sauce as it gets when you don't have 4-8 hours of sauce cook time. Way better than a jar IMHO. I will make it again when I need a dinner in a hurry. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
It was a good basic sauce. Family loved it. I did use chopped tomatoes (I didn't have crushed on hand) put through the blender a bit. I thought it needed a bit more, maybe paste would be good. I will use this recipe as the base for future sauces but will tweak it to our desired preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this tonight because I ran out of Prego for my lasagna. The most sensitive child noticed a difference but she said it was a good one. I only modified it to make it smell like what I wanted to taste. I added 2tsp sugar and oregano based on what I wanted to taste. I only had powdered basil so I added 1/4tsp to 1/2tsp. Again, it was based on smell. In the end I added graded parm to the sauce after it mixed it in w/the meat. This was a very good quick sauce base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Definitely a good, basic recipe that you can put your own spin on. I added chopped onions & mushrooms but still felt it needed something more. I will play around with this as it is a great base, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
We didn't have any pasta sauce in the house so we whipped this up quickly. Tasted great and probably saved us $1.50!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Definitely Quick! Tasty & Healthy! Will make this my go to recipe for fresh tomato sauce whenever I have an abundance of tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Awesome! I tried this one penne and it tasted just like store bought sauce! This sauce is great. It's quick, easy, simple, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Tastes better for a pizza than a pasta. Simple n quick..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Not wanting to use the ready made sauce that came with my pasta, I decided to try this one. I only had stewed tomatoes but this came out very good! My family really enjoyed this one so I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States