Quick Nariyal Burfi (Indian Coconut Fudge) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
It remained a gooey mess. I'm an experienced cook, not sure what the issue is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
When I started I did not know what the end result was supposed to look like. I was afraid to overcook and ended up under cooking and the first batch did not set. I read through the reviews and I salvaged the delicious goo by rolling balls into crushed almonds. After some research and a second attempt, here are my suggestions: I skipped the microwave and opted for my large Dutch oven pot. The goo was too sweet for my taste so for the second batch I used of two cups sweetened coconut and one cup dry coconut flake (also to help with fluid absorption). Same amount of Sweetened condensed milk (21 oz total) and almonds. I warmed the pan on the stove over medium heat, added the coconut and milk. I brought the mixture to a slight bubble then dropped the temperature to a medium low and continued to simmer. I kept stirring and smoothing to keep the mixture from sticking or burning but maintained a high enough heat to get the moisture out. At about 20 minutes in, I added the almonds, mixed well and took off the heat. I immediately put in on a foil lined, oiled, round cookie sheet. It was set in about an hour, but I left it until morning. Cut and serve. Mine are still a tad sticky, so I don’t know the best way to present or serve. Still a work in progress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo-ey
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for an Indian theme dinner. I microwaved as directed and it set up just fine. Instead of putting in a pan for squares I rolled mixture into small balls, put in small (petit four) cups and dipped tops in sugar coated fennel seeds for some colour. The recipe makes a large batch, I would reduce the amounts next time to match one can of milk. Thanks for recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was a yummy treat! Sinfully delicious as I couldn't put it down. It was also a very easy recipe to follow! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
nothing great - just tasted heavily of coconut and was really gooey (but set)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
First, let me say I have no idea what "real" burfi is supposed to take like, but this is a great, fast and easy coconut candy recipe. I made it around the holidays the first time, and make the recipe as directed except I added some pistachios and cut back on the cardamom powder. The second time, to reduce the sugar, i used 1 can of condensed milk and for the remainder, used unsweetened evaporated milk (I did have to cook a bit longer). I added white chocolate, almonds, vanilla and dried cherries - also very good. This recipe is better as it ages and dries out a little. Don't try to take shortcuts in the microwave, it will boil over - like oatmeal - and make a big mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was wonderful!! We loved it. Followed recipe as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Unfortunately, this was not that good. It never firmed up, it was too gooey. And it was WAY too sweet! It tasted like I was eating condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
1 tablespoon of cardamom is excessive! Not only is the spice pretty strong even in small doses, it's rather expensive, so I hesitated after sniffing my container and only put in a teaspoon. Even at that, it made a pretty strong presence, so I can imagine three times that would have made it inedible to me. The resulting candy was pretty good though, and if you are used to a strong punch of cardamom, I suppose the recipe as-is might be what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
As written, it would be much too sweet with both sweetened coconut and sweetened condensed milk. Also, I think it's not really like burfi; it seems more like a shortcut recipe for Coconut Macaroons. Gave 2 Stars because it's a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freida

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States