Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I upped the lemon in this by adding extra lemon zest and Lemon Extract since I wanted EXTRA lemony muffins - this was great! They rose up perfectly and look so nice. I had wanted to make lemon poppyseed muffins but didn't have sour cream or yogurt on hand, so I was skeptical of how this would turn out, but I am so glad I made it! Next time I will try subbing some applesauce for the oil and I will definitely double it. I did get 12 out of this batch, but they are going to go quickly in my house I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I was so glad to find a lemon muffin recipe that actually used lemon juice. I had two lemons that I needed to use up so this fit the bill for part of them. The batter was easy to prepare and made 12 muffins exactly. They baked up perfectly in 30 minutes. Easy and delicious! I don't tend to like lemon flavor in baked goods but I ate two of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I was seriously craving lemon poppyseen muffins and had found lots of recipes with very poor ratings and reviews prior to this one, which I settled on - and I'm happy I did. I didn't have any fresh lemons, so I used bottled lemon juice and the zest of an orange I had lying around - soaked in a splash more lemon juice - and I substituted for buttermilk (1/2 cup milk and 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice) as I usually do. I also added just a touch more flour to balance out the batter - which is far more liquid than many muffin batters, but baked up wonderfully. I wound up with 12 muffins, not 10 - which is no problem, of course - and they are delicious! These are also some of very few muffins I've made from scratch that actually rose and looked poofy, like they are supposed to do. I will definitely be making this again. (Probably with actual fresh lemons next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
needs more salt; but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
These were really great, super lemony and moist. The only changes I made were to add more lemon juice to the batter, about double the amount in the recipe, and to use a different glaze. The glaze I used is the one I use in my 'famous' lemon loaves: The juice of 2 lemons and about 1/4 cup of sugar, heated and stirred in a saucepan until the sugar dissolves. Definitely the right choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These were good, really 4 1/2 stars. I added a bit more lemon juice and zest and used lemon extract instead of vanilla. I made mini muffins and took them to work and they disappeared very quickly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
These are really good but mine turned out a little dry so try something a little different to fit it to your fancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuamaer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Enjoyed these, easy to make, but not enough lemon. Next time will up the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
My family LOVED these muffins! I will definitely make them again. Glad I doubled the recipe. They went quick. They were light and fluffy and had a great round flavor. I am giving them four stars instead of five for a couple of reasons. #1 They were not "quick" in my opinion. We always do our muffins from scratch and these took longer than most due to the zesting and juicing of the lemons. #2 I took the advice of others and added more lemon. I actually upped the lemon to 1/3 cup and found that they could have even been more lemony for real lemon lovers. #3 The glaze made them too sweet. We did without. Otherwise, great recipe! Thank you for submitting it horsephoto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was an okay recipe, but I found it really lacked in lemon taste. Maybe I'm just a lemon-holic, but I would suggest using at least a few more tablespoons of lemon juice to give it that real lemon taste. Also, I added a lemon glaze directly after removing the muffins from the oven, which was pretty decadent on the sugar side of things, but it was very pretty and added even more lemon, which I love! Anyway, the glaze is really simple- 1/4 cup milk, 3 cups confectioner's sugar, and about 2 tablespoons of whatever lemon you have (lemon extract use a little less). Also, you should know that the texture on these are great! They bake fantastically too, seeing as, unlike most lemon poppyseed recipes that use yogurt, the bater wasn't too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by How to Cook a Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States