Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2000
I've used this recipe three times with great results. It took me longer to bake than the recipe suggests, but that could be because of my oven. A nice touch is to add a 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
Have made several times - it is fabulous - better than any I have tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEGROW
Reviewed: May 21, 2001
I get great compliments on this bread every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I made this for holiday gifts It was easy and very moist. I already had a almond poppy seed cake so I left out the seeds. I told people it was a secret recipe when they asked for the recipe. ;-) It was that easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Gustafson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This cake/bread is great! Whenever I make it, it's gone in a day or two, and it's so easier. I make an easy glaze for it too. 1 tbsp lemon juice or milk, and about 1/2 cup powered sugar. I keep adding powered sugar or lemon juice until I get it to a thick enough consistency for a glaze. I usually make this in a bread pan and flip it onto a plate and then dump the glaze on. It's easy, fast, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Made this bread a couple of times for holiday goodie trays and everyone raved about it! Moist, flavorful and just plain good! Cut back a bit on the poppyseed though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This turned out wonderful!! A little more cakey rather than breadlike, but delicious. I had 4 mini loaves and 1 9X5 from this recipe. I also topped with a powdered sugar/lemon juice glaze. Now I won't have to buy from the coffee shop to go with my a.m. java!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This is EASY and fabulous! Very moist and flavorful. Everyone wants the recipe. Keeps very well, too, if you can manage to hide it!! I did make some changes. First, I used 1/3 cup of oil, the juice of one lemon with water added to make one cup total(rather than plain water) to make it more lemony, and I took the zest from that lemon and chopped it finely and added it to the batter. Finally, I baked it in a bundt pan, and after baking, added glaze made from lemon juice and powdered sugar. This all just kicks the lemon flavor up a notch (to borrow a phrase).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Very easy and yummy! I made this for the girls at work and it was a hit! It's very moist and flavorful. I added a little fresh lemon juice and baked in a bunt pan. I also used a lemon/sugar glaze as suggested by others. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Good.. but alot like cake, i was looking for something with a breadlike texture and got a cake that looked like a loaf of bread... but it was still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States