Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The BIGGEST hit I've made from allrecipes.com so far! I made this for Thanksgiving morning, and it was gone the morning after. I made it as a Bundt cake, it came out great. For the glaze I used 1 cup powdered sugar and then squeezed a lemon into the sugar until it formed a glaze, and grated the lemon rind to make it SO flavorful! My family likes a lot of glaze :) You can use 1/2 cup powdered sugar if you want less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Oh yeah!!! I was trying to figure out how to make the same kind of bread that my grandma makes - and this is it!!! The recipe was enough to make two loafs in a 5x9 pan - so I gave one loaf as a gift. It took about 20 minutes longer in my oven - but turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohalika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I've made this recipe twice and everyone loved it. It took a little longer to bake than the directions said, and I added about 1/2 tsp of almond extract. Delicious and easy! This will definitely be one of my go-to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is so easy and so delicious!! It definitely takes longer to cook than stated on the recipe, but it turns out great. I debated on adding a glaze like so many reviewers suggested, but it doesn't need it! It is great on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. I made them in small tins and it made 7 of my small tins. I made them for our church's welcome bread. Very easy also, one of the best quick breads I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richeyville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Loved it! Very light and fluffy. It would be good on it's own, but I opted to make a glaze for it. I mixed together powdered sugar, orange juice, lemon juice, vanilla and almond extract. I then poked holes in the bread and poured the glaze over it and spread it out with a spatula. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Tested recipe for a bridal shower and it is a KEEPER. Instead of the 1 C of water. I used 1/2 C of Real Lemon Juice and 1/2 C of water. I added about 1 teaspoon of pure lemon extract to the water and lemon juice before putting it into the dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I make this recipe with yellow cake mix and instant vanilla pudding. Another tip I received from my aunt who's been making this for years, is to make sure the water is hot. This recipe is a sure hit and always gets rave reviews! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Make recipe exactly as is. This is a cake bread, or "quick bread." It is excellent and was the hit dessert at a BBQ! I did a glaze of 1 1/2 T Orange juice, 1 1/2 tsp. Lemon juice and powdered sugar. Pour over while bread is still warm. Let cool and cut into slices and serve. Make this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
so good!!!! love it, I added the juice of a lemon to the water for extra lemon flavor. so easy, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States