Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
made two ways. one with water and another with lemon/lime juice. The one with juice was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Excellent recipe. Modifications I made: - 1/2cup oil = 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce - 1 pkg lemon pudding mix = 1 pkg vanilla pudding mix (no lemon pudding available) - 1 cup water = 3/4 cup water + juice of 2 freshly squeezed lemons I also added fresh finely grinded lemon zest and a bit more poppy seed. To give it an extra kick, I layered almond slices on top of the bread for the last 3-5 minutes of baking time to give it a nutty crust. Overall, this cake/bread is good because it is extremely moist, not too sweet and a really great simple foundation for a wide variety of modifications you can use to "spice" it up - a cream cheese frosting, a glaze etc etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Easy, quick, refreshing. I like to make these into muffins and put them in cupcake liners. Bake for 18-20 minutes. I put some in the freezer to grab and go with. We enjoy for breakfast or a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Very good. Put them in sprayed muffin tins. Let sit for 20 min before putting in oven. Otherwise first batch will be flat, second fluffy & puffy. Could use more lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is an excellent lemon poppy seed bread recipe. I didn't change a thing - don't mess with perfection! I've served this to company twice as a side dish to Chicken Pasta Salad and was asked for the recipe both times. Thanks for a great recipe Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Super easy, super moist, super good. Used 3/4 C water and 1/4 C lemon juice for extra flavor. Could have used more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Easy and so good! I took the tip from another reviewer and have been making this recipe in mini-loaf pans (makes 5), and baking them for 35-40 minutes. I also glaze them while warm with 1 TB of lemon juice mixed with 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. Great for bake sales!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These are so good! I made them exactly as written but made 24 muffins instead of 2 loaves. They are moist and very lemony (but not over-powering). Will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very yummy and very easy. Ended up cooking for a total of 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Duncan Davis
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Our neighbor "God bless him" is a fireman. He just call about the loaf I sent with him to the fire house. They are taking up a collection to pay me to make more. He just wanted to warn me.lol I told them to keep the money I would love to make more for them. It was too easy to make came out just right,and the taste. How could a whole shift of fireman be wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States