Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Also makes great muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My mother in law has been making this for years, using pistachio pudding mix instead of lemon, it makes them a nice light green colour and the flavor is great. My husband and sons love it. I usually make muffins, no glaze or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower094

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I host a monthly musical soiree (house concert) at my home with anywhere from 35 to 70 guests plus the musicians. As a snack for my guests during the break between sets, I always three or four different kinds of fruit and nut quick breads. i.e., 6 to 10 loaves each month! I first made this lemon poppy seed bread about a year ago and it immediately became a crowd favorite. When I include it in my repertoire, it always disappears first! And if I skip making any, someone ALWAYS asks for it and makes me promise to be sure and include it the following month. I do pump up the lemon flavor by using a cup of strong lemonade in place of the water and I glaze the bread with a mixture of powdered sugar and lemon juice while it is still hot. I cook it in two 4x8 loaf pans and it takes about 40 minutes to reach "clean straw" done-ness. Now if I could just find somewhere to buy poppy seeds in bulk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These are delicious. Here's an idea that I use and may be helpful to those who don't want to make a full size recipe. I mix all the dry ingredients together and then divide them into 4 plastic bags. When I'm ready to bake a few muffins I spray a mini muffin tin w/ non-stick spray. Add 1 egg, 1/8 cup oil, 1/8 cup water and 1/8 cup lemon juice to the dry mix. Fill cups about 2/3 full and bake 18-20 minutes. Yield: about 14 mini muffins. Perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Amazing! I added lemon zest to the batter & a quick glaze I made with lemon juice, powdered sugar & zest. I think it lasted an entire 20 minutes at the office. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Tasty and so easy:) Took way longer to bake over 45 minutes, keep checking and iy will turn out fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this for the holidays, and used another reciepe and added a glaze to it. It was the best ever, so many compliments, my daughter has asked me to make weekly now! I love it, very simple and the best taste ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Have made this twice now, and both times I baked them in my bundt pan. It's very moist, and the perfect amount of poppy seeds. I made this the first time as directed, and the second time I made two changes. I used only 1/3 cup oil (didn't affect the moistness of the cake at all) and I added a pinch of ground cloves and a teaspoon of cinnamon, to subdue the lemon flavor. It was still lemony when it was baked, but the spices gave it a much more home-made taste, in my opinion - less of that 'lemon-cake-mix' flavor. You can't taste the cinnamon - it just creates a more complex flavor. I'll be adding the spices from now on, but this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have made this delicious recipe several times. It's embarrassingly easy and everyone LOVES it! I cut down on the poppy seeds due to our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States