Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Loved this! So easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Also makes great muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My mother in law has been making this for years, using pistachio pudding mix instead of lemon, it makes them a nice light green colour and the flavor is great. My husband and sons love it. I usually make muffins, no glaze or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower094

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I host a monthly musical soiree (house concert) at my home with anywhere from 35 to 70 guests plus the musicians. As a snack for my guests during the break between sets, I always three or four different kinds of fruit and nut quick breads. i.e., 6 to 10 loaves each month! I first made this lemon poppy seed bread about a year ago and it immediately became a crowd favorite. When I include it in my repertoire, it always disappears first! And if I skip making any, someone ALWAYS asks for it and makes me promise to be sure and include it the following month. I do pump up the lemon flavor by using a cup of strong lemonade in place of the water and I glaze the bread with a mixture of powdered sugar and lemon juice while it is still hot. I cook it in two 4x8 loaf pans and it takes about 40 minutes to reach "clean straw" done-ness. Now if I could just find somewhere to buy poppy seeds in bulk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These are delicious. Here's an idea that I use and may be helpful to those who don't want to make a full size recipe. I mix all the dry ingredients together and then divide them into 4 plastic bags. When I'm ready to bake a few muffins I spray a mini muffin tin w/ non-stick spray. Add 1 egg, 1/8 cup oil, 1/8 cup water and 1/8 cup lemon juice to the dry mix. Fill cups about 2/3 full and bake 18-20 minutes. Yield: about 14 mini muffins. Perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Amazing! I added lemon zest to the batter & a quick glaze I made with lemon juice, powdered sugar & zest. I think it lasted an entire 20 minutes at the office. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Tasty and so easy:) Took way longer to bake over 45 minutes, keep checking and iy will turn out fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this for the holidays, and used another reciepe and added a glaze to it. It was the best ever, so many compliments, my daughter has asked me to make weekly now! I love it, very simple and the best taste ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Have made this twice now, and both times I baked them in my bundt pan. It's very moist, and the perfect amount of poppy seeds. I made this the first time as directed, and the second time I made two changes. I used only 1/3 cup oil (didn't affect the moistness of the cake at all) and I added a pinch of ground cloves and a teaspoon of cinnamon, to subdue the lemon flavor. It was still lemony when it was baked, but the spices gave it a much more home-made taste, in my opinion - less of that 'lemon-cake-mix' flavor. You can't taste the cinnamon - it just creates a more complex flavor. I'll be adding the spices from now on, but this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States