Quick Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe was great! I made a few changes to suit my taste. Instead of beef bouillon, I used vegetable or chicken stock in the can/box. I also added a full Tablespoon of Italian seasoning, 3 cloves of fresh sliced garlic, and a cup of leftover spaghetti sauce to give a nice tomato base. For a nice variation, I also added frozen italian greenbeans and other veggies. This soup would also be good with beans, rice, meat or pasta added as well. Good on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYMCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This soup is great!!! It was the second time making it and I loved it even more. I do add a little extra boullion, vegetable juice, a bit more garlic salt, and chickpeas to make it more hearty, but it's wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Very quick and easy soup to throw together. I used 2 cans beef broth rather than the boullion. Also added a couple of cups of cooked shell macaroni and a can of kidney beans to make it a little heartier. My hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Very Good. I squeesed some lemon into each serving bowl and it added a wonderful zest. Will make again. My grandmother used to make this a similar way. Basically the same recipe, but she'd use crumbled cooked ground beef. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This soup went over well with my family, not big vegetable fans. The italian seasoning and sprinkle of parmesan make it italian restaurant quality! I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymond, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I love veggie soup, and this recipe proved to be so easy, quick and delicious. My husband, a chef, loved this recipe too! The only changes I made were I used halved grape tomatoes, added a bit of V-8, and didn't add any salt to the soup. My son doesn't like celery so he turned his nose up to the soup so for lunch the next day my husband pureed the soup in the blender, put it back in the pot, added a little milk and chopped sausage. Our son LOVED it, he thought it was a Mexican bean soup :) This method works for homemade mushroom soup too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Great soup. I doubled up the yeild and added a diced red pepper and a bunch of spring onions. Personal taste. I also used vegetable stock cubes instead of the beef boullion as a few members of my family are vegetarian. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is really good. I omitted the cabbage & celery and just used what I had in the fridge (onions, green peppers cauliflower and a frozen mix of carrots, broccoli, etc). I 'sauteed' the veg in a bit of water so there is no fat in the recipe and this is perfect for my WW points! I used Club House Spaghetti Seasoning. This will be yummy pureed too for a nice smooth texture soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Yo Abe!
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Not bad. I usually don't ccok with salt at home because of my BP but a nice dish on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My "Dragon Tail" soup search is over thanks to this recipe. My son loved it at Medieval Times, and loved this recipe just as much at home. I used 6 cups of beef stock instead of beef cubes and only included the onion, carrots, tomatoes, and celery from the veg. list. After cooking everything else as directed - I strained my son's portion to be only broth as it is in "Dragon Tail" soup and he couldn't be happier. I ate the soup "as is" and was very satisfied with the ease of making the soup and the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States