Quick Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
excellent!!! used yellow squash in place of zuchinni and added dashes of grated parm. cheese when we ate it. super great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Exactly what I wanted for dinner tonight. I sauteed ½ an onion, 2 carrots, no celery, and a can of sliced mushrooms in about a tablespoon of bacon grease. I poured the can of tomatoes, 1 TBS Italian seasoning, 2 tsp beef bouillon and 5 cups water in my 3-quart slow cooker set on low. When the veggies were tender, I added them to the slow cooker with some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a can of garbanzo beans. I let it cook for around three hours, and then I set the cooker to high and added 1 sliced zucchini and about a cup of broccoli florets. I let it cook for another hour, then added about a cup of seashell pasta. 30 minutes later, it was done! I used the emersion blender to puree a little of it to thicken it somewhat, and it was fabulous with shredded cheddar and a teaspoon of plain yogurt. Thanks for sharing, Peach822!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Loved it! What a great base for veggie soup. I left out the celery, but added some kidney beans, potatoes and a can of tomato sauce. Soooo good. I think I'll try some crumbled cooked ground beef next! That would make a hearty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Really tasty soup base. I did add beef to mine, and used chicken broth instead of beef bouillon, but that was a pantry substitute...and we like a little meat in our "vegie" soups.// a year later...tried again, as written by submitter...good even without the meat. It does lend itself to tweaking. Can be served over rice or have some kind of pasta added to it for a more stick-to-your-ribs version. Ah, yes, even pulled ribs in this sea of vegetable goodness, would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
So wonderful... makes me wish that it was cold all year long just so I could make soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I thought this soup was great, and very easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was excellent ... made it for lunch when our daughter and fiance came up for a day as we were going out to dinner and I wanted to serve something light for lunch. It was purrrrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I make this one for frozen lunches. The parmesan adds the extra tasty surprise. This soup is easy to make, especially with a mandoline. It reheats perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNDREGER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a great basic soup recipe. Instead of bullion I used two cans vegetable and two cans of beef broth. I threw in some canned corn, frozen green beans, potatoes, and kidney beans. I suggest using less of the italian seasoning as it's really powerful (but smells great!). I added a couple tablespoons of tomato paste as well because I like tomato flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arzenika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made this for our church's mid-week Lenten soup and bread supper on Wednesday evening. It was very good! DEFINITELY use the Parmesan cheese. It makes this soup GREAT (I tasted it without the cheese and decided to add it. I'm glad I did!) I also increased the Italian seasoning to about 1 Tbs and used a little extra boullion crystals ( I didn't have cubes on hand) instead of adding salt. The recipe made a 5-quart pot of soup and I came home with only about 1-1/2 cups left-over. I pureed the leftovers and liked it even better that way! It would probably be good pureed, then mix in some cooked macaroni. Thanks for a great, simple, HEALTHY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States