Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
GREAT soup!! I don't like black eyed peas but I loved this! I used Spicy Italian Sausage because my husband and I love the flavor of it. I did what others suggested and added an onion, celery and bell pepper. I also added 2 cloves garlic and used fresh grape tomatoes instead of canned and frozen black eyed peas instead of canned. I used brown basmati rice without seasoning and all chicken broth instead of half water. I know I changed this recipe up quite a bit but I still gave it 5 stars because it is a great base recipe that can be changed up according to your tastes. I will definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My husband loves black-eyed peas, so I tried this recipe out today for him. He loved it! Just used a hot sausage and added celery, onions and garlic. Nice way to warm up on such a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this recipe to celebrate New Year's day. I can use the luck! It was great. I used Jimmy Dean Sage Sausage. I cooked it with a chopped onion, green pepper, and celery. I drained and rinsed the fat. I was trying to keep the sodium low, but tasty. I used Zatarain's brown and wild rice mix, a 32 oz. box of low sodium chicken broth, 2 cans of Glory brand seasoned low sodium black eyed peas (drained). My tomatoes were organic and lower in sodium. I used 1 1/2 cups of water due to the additional chicken broth. The seasoned black eyed peas really made a difference, I think. They had really good flavor and a nice smoky smell. I didn't use additional salt, but did add some cayenne pepper and a dash of creole seasoning. This really was good. I can see how it could be varied using different meats, beans, and rice mixes. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kiermaier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I`m cooking as i type. I can`t wait to get into it. It smell`s like mom`s house. God Bless her she could cook. Love all the ingredient`s. This recipe is a keeper for cold days. I doubled the batch so i can have more that one meal out of it. Love the flavor and all that`s in it. Tim Burr from Belton,Mo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe was very good and oh so simple. I made it exactly as written and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was delicious. I didn't use the tomatoes as my husband is not a big fan. This is my new go to soup. Won't be just for New Years. We all need good luck all year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made a vegan version without the sausage. It was quick, easy and satisfying. It will be a good base for other additions and substitutions, so I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent recipe - we followed it exactly as written. Such a nice way to welcome in 2013. Thank you ThoHug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I'm sitting with a bowl of this in my lap - couldn't wait to review it. I made this "as-is," then tossed some spinach and kale in at the end so I could have a one-dish New Year's dinner (hoppin' john for luck, greens for money). I'll definitely make this again, and will probably use some of the suggested additions (celery, carrots, onion, garlic, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Just saw this and decided this would be a fast fix. I did not care for the tomatoes with the chicken broth. It was okay, but would not say it was good. Both my boyfriend and I had the same opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States