Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Used Zatarain's Wild Brown Rice Mix & Jimmy Dean's sage sausage. Coupled it with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread by Bethany Weathersby off this site too and this meal couldn't be easier or tastier for my husband and four kids ages 4-11 on New Year's. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This soup was easy and really delicious. I used a 32 oz box of low sodium chicken broth, 1 1/2 cups water to account for 4 oz more chicken broth, low sodium tomatoes, and a 4 1/2 oz wild/long grain rice mix with seasoning. The sausage and rice mix had enough sodium, that using everything else low sodium was perfect for our family tastes. Also, the 4 1/2 oz rice mix was plenty for the soup. There was not a lot of excess broth. I will definitely make it again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I like the simple cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Love this soup! Great on a snowy winter day! I like using a sausage with some spice! Served with hot french bread makes for a great comfort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Excellent soup and super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Tried this a few weeks ago and what a nice surprise. This soup is delicious and filling. It makes a great winter meal. I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and it requires no modification, yum. If you would like a little more heat, add some cayenne. Other than that, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Made this just for fun, and it was a HUGE hit with my Hubby!!! We will be making this again and often!!!! A great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Wow! very good! easy enough to make and very flavorful. used mild italian sausage and added dried sage. will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Faria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Good soup but on the mild side. I made it exactly as written but added hot sauce to leftovers which was very good for the second night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States