Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Easy Easy Easy, tastes great on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made exactly as written- really good and so easy. I made for New Years's (legumes and pork are considered good luck for the New Year). Will make again and again. Served with cornbread made from Marie Callender's "restaurant style" mix (excellent). Thanks for sending this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Easy, quick, delicious, even my young kids loved it. And did I mention easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I'm sure this is fantastic as written! I didn't have a wild rice mix, so I added about 1 1/2 c. white rice and seasoned with some creole seasoning, a bay leaf, cayenne and black pepper. I also added diced onion when I was cooking the sausage. Before adding the rice, I let it simmer, uncovered, for about 30 minutes to reduce the liquid and let the flavor intensify a bit. The final result wasn't really a soup, but more of a casserole consistency. I served with hot cornbread. It was perfect for our New Years Day meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've made this countless times, I follow the recipe exactly as it is written and it is easy, quick & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Delicious and so easy! Will be making this again. I doubled the recipe, and only had one package of wild rice, so I also used a package of Zatarain's dirty rice as well. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was so easy to make, and the result was absolutely delicious. I will be making this every New Year's Day! I even froze some of the leftovers, and they reheated pretty well. I recommend pairing with some good cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Very good made exactly like stated. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
i liked it but my family liked it more than me. I almost made it a rissotto consistency ...pretty darn good, filling, and easy to make. Couldnt find sage sausage so I just added my own sage..probably more since I love it. Interesting taste..very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This will become a family favorite, for sure! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States