Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ejaner90
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was a hit on New Year's Day. The whole family loved it! I couldn't believe how good it was and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
A great, quick meal to use what I had on hand. I sauteed an onion with the sausage. Then added a can of crushed tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce. Then came a diced carrot, a clove of garlic and a can of white beans. Celery would be nice too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I added a few extra ingredients and this was so delish!!!! I used yellow rice versus the long grain, added curry and some chopped bay leaves, and a can of black beans to the ingredients. OH SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Maczis Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Really easy and yummy dish. More importantly, you this recipe holds up to changes if you don't have the exact ingredients in the kitchen. I didn't have Chicken stock so I dissolved three bouillon cubes in water. I didn't have pork sausage so I use Italian Turkey sausage. The dish was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Made this last year; really great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I gave this a 5 even tho I didn't care for it. I made it 1 New Years thinking it might make the bep's taste better. I just don't like bep's. But I was really impressed with the taste of the broth. I took the advice of another and sauted onion and celery in with the pork sausage. And added extra sage. Soooo I decided to try it with great northern beans. I added 3 cans drained and rinsed. And boy is that yummy. Can't get enough of it. I also added some kale to it. It is a great recipe either way. If you like bep's. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've never had Hoppin' John Soup, but was more than happy to share some of this (since it makes a bunch) with some neighbors who are equally lame. We all loved it. I made some changes, but it doesn't matter what those were, because the basis of the original recipe is strong enough to let us play with it. Don't be afraid to use what you've got on hand. We'll do this again and again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Good & simple. I found myself longing for a bit more flavor. Maybe the sausage I bought didn't have enough seasoning??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjanas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Had to modify to fit ingred's on hand. We used spicy sausage and then tossed in some sage. Also added red pepper flakes and a dash of cayenne (we like spicy!). Added diced onion and celery, used 2 cans mild rotel and used water w/chicken boullion in place of one of the cans of chicken broth. Never had Hoppin John before so not sure what's "authentic", but we liked the tomatoes in it and this turned out great and it was done quick! Score!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is the best Hoppin' John that I have ever had. We liked it well enough to incorporate it into our rotation of winter menus. It is easy to prepare, and we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Momster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Cabin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States