Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This recipe was excellent. I teach a basic nutrition education program designed for limited resource families, and I was looking for a good, easy and inexpensive hoppin john recipe for New Year's. Several groups have done this recipe, both as written and with additions of Chorizo sausage, Old Bay Seasoning, and leftover honey baked ham. Even people who do not eat black-eyed peas rave about this recipe. For those with problems with black-eyed peas, any other bean would work well. It's a great recipe as is, or as a base for a very creative cook. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
We liked this hearty soup. I added celery, green pepper and onion to the sausage as it browned. Only added one can of tomatoes and used 3 C chicken broth with 1 C water. Added all ingredients except rice and simmered for about an hour (reduced it some too). Added rice and simmered on heat for 10 minutes. Removed from heat and let sit until rice was done but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Too bad the ratings only to 5!! I'm not from the South and I've never had this soup before. It's a welcome change and easy to prepare. I pretty much followed the recipe, but added two stalks of celery,diced and one medium onion, chopped, and cooked them in with the saugage as a reviewed suggested. I used a 16 oz frozen pkg of black eyed peas, thawed, because we like fresh or frozen veggies much better than canned. I gave the peas about a 20 minute head start in the broth and water. I also added about a cup of thinly diced cooked ham, per a reviewer. Served with made-from-scratch cornbread. Yum!! This goes into the rotation file, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Like others, I don’t care for plain old black-eyed peas for New Years. I wanted to make this recipe exactly. I had most of the ingredients. One of my cans of peas was “with snaps” but I figured a few pieces of green beans wouldn’t hurt anything. I got the exact Sage sausage. I couldn’t find the 6-ounce, uncooked, with seasoning packet, long grain and wild rice. My store only had Rice-a-Roni called “long grain and wild” and it was a 4.3 ounce box. I love Rice-a-Roni but it isn’t all rice. The Roni part is Vermicelli. I got Uncle Ben’s, already cooked, long grain and wild rice in an 8.8-ounce package and I left out the 2 cups of water. Since I had varied, anyway, from the recipe, I threw in some onions that I pre-cooked in the microwave. A must in any soup worth eating! I didn’t need it to be that quick. I simmered in my Crock Pot on High for a few hours. My hoppin’ John soup was very tasty and I’d make it again. It’s mild though. If you want spicy, a little garlic powder and hot sauce would blend well, or use a spicier sausage. Good recipe that doesn’t require exactness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
EXCELLENT. SO.... much flavor. I added sauteed chopped celery, peppers, onions, roasted garlic, sage and cayenne. I substituted pork sausage for smoked turkey sausage. And also I did one can of mild rotel tomatoes and 1 can of diced tomatoes instead of 2 cans of the same. I'll definitely make this one againg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adel, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
As written, I'd rate this a 4. But, I added some andouille sausage instead of the sage pork sausage, and omited the tomatoes and 1 cup of water (we wanted it a little less soupy.) A little cajun seasoning, and we thought this was a 5* for sure. Thanks for helping us start the New Year right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I cut this recipe in half and it still fed 5 people for dinner - with leftovers for 2 the next day! I let it boil down to a very thick stew. Very Enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This soup is sooooo good! I followed the recipe exactly except for I decided to add some cayenne pepper to add some heat. My husband said " oh honey this recipe is a keeper". It is so simple to make & yet tastes to much more complicated. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This soup is excellent! I made one change and omitted the tomatoes. The black eyed peas I used came seasoned and were very good in this soup. It will become a family favorite! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This soup is excellent! It was quick to prepare and would be easy to do after work for a warm dinner on a cold night. My husband declared it a success and asked to have it again. I think it would be good with chopped smoked sausage, too. The only thing I changed was that I didn't have sage sausage. Our FFA kids sell Blue and Gold Sausage, and that's what I had on hand. Goood job, Nephi. I'll watch for your name on recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States