Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Just OK. Really not enough flavor. Did not have black eyed pea beans and used white beans instead. Also added onions and garlic to the sausage when sauteing and added 2 packs of wild rice mix because it seemed very watery. Would try adding celery, more onions, and stock instead of broth if I made this again. Maybe after it lays awhile it will taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I make this every year on New Year's Day exactly as written with only one addition, kale. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Delicious! I added celery, onion, garlic and bell pepper per other reviews. I used 1 can of tomatoes and increased the broth-DH not a big tomato fan. Made it New Years Eve to have on New Years Day- easy and good. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Trumble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I added chopped & sauteed celery, green pepper, and onion to the soup. I did not have seasoned rice mix. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I left out the 2 c water to make it thicker. Added leftover ham, sauteed onions and peppers, some cajun seasoning. it was so delicious and thick like a stew rather than a soup and I served it with cornbread. Yummy!! Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Easy and yummy soup! Great for cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I found this recipe in 2007 and it is a GREAT one. It's easy, economical, versatile and best of all delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
First time making anything like this - was HUGE hit with even my picky-est eater. DId keep the rice separate as did not want it to get mushy - will do that in the future as well. Very filling and tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
We made for New Year's this and even our toddler and preschooler loved it. It is very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Simply amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States