Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I found this recipe in 2007 and it is a GREAT one. It's easy, economical, versatile and best of all delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
First time making anything like this - was HUGE hit with even my picky-est eater. DId keep the rice separate as did not want it to get mushy - will do that in the future as well. Very filling and tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
We made for New Year's this and even our toddler and preschooler loved it. It is very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Simply amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe for the last two New Years and its fantastic. I even made it for my family up North this year and they actually loved it. I love to pair it with a great corn bread recipe. I like to leave it sit a bit so the rice soaks up a little of the liquid so its real hearty, and I like to add a half a bag of frozen okra, very yummy. Great recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this on New Years Day and it was delicious! I used regular italian sausage, sliced and fried in a pan. I added carrots, celery and onion to the pan to soak up the yummy flavor. The only other chnage I made was to use one can of black beans and frozen black eyed peas. The whole family really enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My family loved this, and they "don't eat black-eyed peas!" Changes: Halved recipe due to having onlyone can of peas...Pre-cooked, crumbled turkey sausage was on hand for the sausage, and I also had some pre-made Minute Rice brown rice. My can of tomatoes had onion and green pepper in it I think. In any case, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katharine B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this today for New Years. Used all the ingredients as listed. I did however take others suggestion and put onion and green pepper in with the sausage. As it was cooking, i would taste test and found it to be a bit bland. I ended up adding ground pepper and then Franks Hot Sauce. If I do make it again I will add seasoned tomatoes. You can really be creative with this recipe, but as it stand on it own, didn't have enough flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I tried this last night and it is amazing. I didnt use the sage pork sausage. Just regular pork sausage and it turned out very good. Also VERY easy to make. Will definitely make again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nees68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This soup is fantastic! Very easy to prepare. I had a difficult time finding the black-eyed peas in a can. I looked at three stores and was about to buy a bag of dried black-eyed peas (finally the last store at least had them that way) when I remembered a reviewer said they bought them frozen. The store did have them frozen (thank you Joe G. because I would not have even thought to look in the frozen foods). I prepared them the way the bag said, drained them, and then added them to my soup. I also took the advice of viewers and added onion and celery to the sausage while it was cooking, about ½ cup each. My sausage was just regular sausage so I just added sage to it while it cooked. I used Uncle Ben’s long grain and wild rice mix and did not think the end result needed any added salt. My whole family liked this soup. We had never had black-eyed peas before, but we all liked them. I think this soup would also be great with spinach or kale dropped in the last few minutes of cooking and will probably try it that way the next time I make it – and there will definitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States