Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was delicious. I didn't use the tomatoes as my husband is not a big fan. This is my new go to soup. Won't be just for New Years. We all need good luck all year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made a vegan version without the sausage. It was quick, easy and satisfying. It will be a good base for other additions and substitutions, so I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent recipe - we followed it exactly as written. Such a nice way to welcome in 2013. Thank you ThoHug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I'm sitting with a bowl of this in my lap - couldn't wait to review it. I made this "as-is," then tossed some spinach and kale in at the end so I could have a one-dish New Year's dinner (hoppin' john for luck, greens for money). I'll definitely make this again, and will probably use some of the suggested additions (celery, carrots, onion, garlic, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Just saw this and decided this would be a fast fix. I did not care for the tomatoes with the chicken broth. It was okay, but would not say it was good. Both my boyfriend and I had the same opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Just OK. Really not enough flavor. Did not have black eyed pea beans and used white beans instead. Also added onions and garlic to the sausage when sauteing and added 2 packs of wild rice mix because it seemed very watery. Would try adding celery, more onions, and stock instead of broth if I made this again. Maybe after it lays awhile it will taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I make this every year on New Year's Day exactly as written with only one addition, kale. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Delicious! I added celery, onion, garlic and bell pepper per other reviews. I used 1 can of tomatoes and increased the broth-DH not a big tomato fan. Made it New Years Eve to have on New Years Day- easy and good. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I added chopped & sauteed celery, green pepper, and onion to the soup. I did not have seasoned rice mix. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I left out the 2 c water to make it thicker. Added leftover ham, sauteed onions and peppers, some cajun seasoning. it was so delicious and thick like a stew rather than a soup and I served it with cornbread. Yummy!! Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States