Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is SO good! I added one large carrot(sliced), 1 cup chopped green bell pepper and about 1.5 cups shredded green cabbage, just for extra veggies. I had mild sausage without sage so I added 1.5 tsp. of thyme in place of the sage. Served with cornbread. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
So delicious and such a hearty meal. I added dried minced onion while cooking the sausage. I threw in some chopped carrots along with the rice, used diced tomatoes with green chiles for a bit of heat, and added garlic powder, two chicken bouillon cubes and salt & pepper to taste. My ten-year-old had two big bowls and said she loved it! I will save this recipe and make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
i thought this was to simple, never heard of hoppin john. but had all the stuff on hand to make it. so here we go. it turned out great. i think this could have a lot of recipes with just a little messing around. very hardy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is fantastic!!!!!!!!! And so quick. Will be in my work lunches all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was great - very tasty and easy. I will make this again, probably with more hot sauce because there was not enough for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was such a great EASY meal for a cold January night. Served it with a loaf of French bread with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was so easy and so good. I made some changes though. I used one medium onion, chopped. Instead of using 4 cans of black-eyed beans, I used 1 can of red beans, 1 can of Pink and 1 can of black-eyed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccloud, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was really delicious! The only change I made was to use 2 boxes of long grain/ wild rice mix, because the brand I used (Farmhouse) was only 4 ounces. It ended up thick and hearty, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a great recipe. Since my family does not eat pork we substituted the sausage for turkey kiebalsa. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent soup!!!!! I used turkey sausage (mild, b/c the store was out of hot - so I added hot pepper flakes) and browned that with celery, onion and garlic. Subbed Rotel for one can of tomatoes. Spiced it up with a bay leaf and a bit of Emeril's "essence." My daughter (a professed soup-hater) LOVED it and even my son (hates beans) ate about half a bowl. I would have kept eating and eating it if I hadn't gotten full! I will definitely make this again and again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States