Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very tasty and really makes a big pot! I used 2 cans of Glory brand low sodium blacked-eyed peas, 2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes, threw in slices of smoked turkey sausage and a large can of Glory brand collard greens. Didn't add the extra liquid because I cooked the rice separate, and had corn bread on the side. Excellent base to start and can do so much with this recipe! Thanks ThoHug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I doubled this recipe, except for the wild rice mix - and it was great. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because I would not double the rice mix in a double-recipe. The flavor of the seasoning packets would be too overbearing. I used Uncle Ben's and 1 box totally changed the flavor of the whole dish. Wasn't too sure I liked the flavor combination, but got rave reviews from others. None the less, this is a hearty soup, and worth taking the time to write a review. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
EXCELLENT! This soup has so much flavor! I added another pound of sausage, hominy, and another can of chicken broth just to make it more of what my family likes to eat. Besides that... I am definitely saving this recipe! Thanks for letting the new year start off with a bang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great and tastes. Modified with chopped celery and onions. Used frozen black eyed peas too. Will definitely make it before next New Years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We did a vegetarian version for some of our New Years guests. It turned out great and we just added a smoked tofurkey sausage to the side for them and smoked kielbasa for us. Served also with a side of cornbread and sautéed kale, topped with green onions, hot sauce, and sour cream. It really made for an easy, affordable, colorful, flavorful, and satisfying meal. The beans and rice mixture did just fine without the addition of the meat, all measurements kept the same as listed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Used Zatarain's Wild Brown Rice Mix & Jimmy Dean's sage sausage. Coupled it with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread by Bethany Weathersby off this site too and this meal couldn't be easier or tastier for my husband and four kids ages 4-11 on New Year's. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This soup was easy and really delicious. I used a 32 oz box of low sodium chicken broth, 1 1/2 cups water to account for 4 oz more chicken broth, low sodium tomatoes, and a 4 1/2 oz wild/long grain rice mix with seasoning. The sausage and rice mix had enough sodium, that using everything else low sodium was perfect for our family tastes. Also, the 4 1/2 oz rice mix was plenty for the soup. There was not a lot of excess broth. I will definitely make it again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I like the simple cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Love this soup! Great on a snowy winter day! I like using a sausage with some spice! Served with hot french bread makes for a great comfort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States