Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I used 16 oz of frozen okra instead of tomatoes and 7 oz Healthy Choice smoked sausage instead of the pork sausage. It is wonderful!! Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt purple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
2 years after first trying this recipie, I'm updating my review, but keeping the 5 star rating! This has become a staple recipie at our house - almost every week in cold or cool weather. It is SO easy to tweek & very forgiving : I've forgotten the water, used only water because no broth on hand, added & substituted link sausage, ham, barley, seasonings, various veggies, etc., doubled & tripled it & it ALWAYS turns out DELICIOUS! We often make this after work-done in 30 min. or less, or on days off I let it cook low & slow & it gets almost stew like. It's also a frequent request for work pot lucks (between this & 'clone of a cinnabon' also from AllRecipies-which, btw makes a nice companion/dessert with the Hoppin' John). If you have any left over it re-heats nicely as well(I have to make a double batch to have left overs) If friends know I'm making this, they've been known to invite themselves over for dinner, too!. I still can't thank you enough for this recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
excellent. we will make this again. a real comfort soup for a cold winters night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was, as the name suggests, very quick! It was very tasty; everyone liked it, even the picky eater. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
this was absolutely fantastic!! really filling and flavorful! I, like many other reviewers, opted for spicy italian sausage and also added both onions and celery to the mix, which really added a lot of taste and body to the soup. The spicy sausage with this recipe is just a perfect pairing; I'd highly suggest it! And also, Uncle Ben's has a quick long-grain & wild rice that comes in a box w/ seasoning and it's really inexpensive...I noticed people saying they couldn't find this rice with the seasoning, but I'm just telling you all- it's out there!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
THIS WAS GREAT! I added some Emeril's Essence and used smoked sausage rather than sage dressing. I ate on it all week and shared with a co-worker. It was great and will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was very tasty, with several modifications. I didn't have sage flavored sausage, so I used my usual breakfast sausage, and added a tsp. of sage to the recipe. Also, I prefer a thicker stew type soup, so I left out the water, altogether. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Too bad the ratings only to 5!! I'm not from the South and I've never had this soup before. It's a welcome change and easy to prepare. I pretty much followed the recipe, but added two stalks of celery,diced and one medium onion, chopped, and cooked them in with the saugage as a reviewed suggested. I used a 16 oz frozen pkg of black eyed peas, thawed, because we like fresh or frozen veggies much better than canned. I gave the peas about a 20 minute head start in the broth and water. I also added about a cup of thinly diced cooked ham, per a reviewer. Served with made-from-scratch cornbread. Yum!! This goes into the rotation file, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was really good, although I did make a few changes. I started by chopping one onion, 4 strips of bacon, 8oz of ham, 8oz smoked sausage in my food processor. Fried that up with about 1 1/2lb. ground beef. Drained fat, rinsed with hot water. I used 2 cans rotel and a can of diced tomatoes. Tossed in about a cup of shredded carrot and a stalk of celery, chopped, a 16oz bag frozen black-eyed peas, and doubled the rice(I had Uncle Ben's Spanish rice on hand). My 9yr old made up some cornbread muffins. We had a scrumptious supper!! Everyone at the table raved and had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
First time making soup ever and absolutely loved the recipe. I followed the directions to the "t", except I used hot italian sausage 'cause we like it hot at our house, lol! Very easy and quick to make, will definitely make again! Thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States