Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made a double batch of this for New Year's Eve/ New Year's Day 2009 and now I am thinking I should have tripled the batch! My family of four loved it. Even my non-green eating husband enjoyed it and my picky eating 13 y.o. daughter had 3 consecutive servings. The only changes I made were: I used Polish style sausage link quartered and browned (I did NOT double this due to fat), added a green pepper, and garlic salt. Served with Glory Foods brand Southern Style Seasoned Collard Greens-- and this combo was freakin' awesome! Seasoned individual servings with hot sauce and/or diced jalepenos. We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe and will make it again. Also, in preparing my double batch, I inadvertently used 28 ounces of diced tomatoes rather than 56 ounces but they were never missed (and I love lots of tomatoes). Very aromatic & flavor- popping when combined with the Glory greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
it was tasty but better after i added some cumin, garlic powder, peppers and onions. I omitted the water and just cooked the rice in the broth for a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was absolutely the easiest and most delicious soup....my whole family enjoyed it and I'm telling all my friends....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Just like the hoppin john soup my aunt used to make. It was perfect and even my picky husband ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This recipe is so delicious and so easy, I have to give it 5 stars. I make a batch on Sunday and bring it for lunch all week. The sausage really gives it a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
My Grandmother who is 85 years old just told me about this old recipe that her dad use to fix her when she was a little girl. I searched and found it here! I made it for her last week and everyone just thought it was the greatest! I am fixing another pot tonight! I added a bit of crushed red pepper for a little zing!! Thanks for sharing with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very good! Next time I may use pasta instead of rice, but turned out good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very tasty! I used cut up kielbasa (because that's what I had) and added some sage; I think I tossed in some seasoned salt as well. My kids aren't big on soup, but they were able to sort of pick and choose what went in their bowls. My husband made short work of the leftovers at lunch the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Literally used what I had on hand. Three qtr. lb. of "Hot" sausage and diced up 4 smokey breakfast links. Zatarain's yellow rice mix and frozen black-eyed peas went into the pot. Used mostly chicken broth but the soup was still too thick so kept started adding V-8 Spicy Hot till the consistence I desired....Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I didn't get my black-eye pea fix this New Year's Day, so I really wanted to try this soup. :-) I didn't have the pork sausage (don't care for pork anyway) so I used turkey smoked sausage instead. I started out by sauteeing a small onion with the sausage, used just one 15-oz. can of stewed tomatoes and one cup of water. Added a handful or two of frozen spinach at the end per another reader's suggestion. It looked quite festive, and tasted awesome! Made a big ol' pot to share with family, friends and appreciative co-workers. Now I know 2008 will be a good year cause I had my blackeye peas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States