Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
My Grandmother who is 85 years old just told me about this old recipe that her dad use to fix her when she was a little girl. I searched and found it here! I made it for her last week and everyone just thought it was the greatest! I am fixing another pot tonight! I added a bit of crushed red pepper for a little zing!! Thanks for sharing with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very good! Next time I may use pasta instead of rice, but turned out good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very tasty! I used cut up kielbasa (because that's what I had) and added some sage; I think I tossed in some seasoned salt as well. My kids aren't big on soup, but they were able to sort of pick and choose what went in their bowls. My husband made short work of the leftovers at lunch the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Literally used what I had on hand. Three qtr. lb. of "Hot" sausage and diced up 4 smokey breakfast links. Zatarain's yellow rice mix and frozen black-eyed peas went into the pot. Used mostly chicken broth but the soup was still too thick so kept started adding V-8 Spicy Hot till the consistence I desired....Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I didn't get my black-eye pea fix this New Year's Day, so I really wanted to try this soup. :-) I didn't have the pork sausage (don't care for pork anyway) so I used turkey smoked sausage instead. I started out by sauteeing a small onion with the sausage, used just one 15-oz. can of stewed tomatoes and one cup of water. Added a handful or two of frozen spinach at the end per another reader's suggestion. It looked quite festive, and tasted awesome! Made a big ol' pot to share with family, friends and appreciative co-workers. Now I know 2008 will be a good year cause I had my blackeye peas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Made it by the recipe. Didn't care for it but my friend born and bred in Texas loved it. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is the best! I was looking for something different than the same old blackeyed peas and rice. This recipe fit the bill. I used one 28oz can of crushed tomatoes as this is what was in the cupboard then omitted the water and salt. Also did not add any additional seasonings. The end result had a stew consistency that set off the Southern Collards (from allrecipes) and pan-fried cornbread. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
What a wonderful recipe! I used leftover honey ham and also added red, green & yellow peppers, onions, and flavored canned tomatoes. In addition to the salt, I seasoned with accent and lawry's seasoning. As a side, I baked cornbread. A very hearty meal that we will definitely use again ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Great black-eyed pea recipe for New Year's! I've been making this for 4 years now and never have any leftovers. Added some green pepper, celery and some red pepper flakes and serve on top of cornbreag when finished with a side of turnip greens and your set for the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Thomas
Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I really like Hoppin' John so tried this soup on my family and served Mexican cornbread with it and they all loved it! Even the teenagers! So several different ones wanted the recipe. We liked it so much I will probably make it again New Year's day for our annual meal of black eye peas, cabbage, pork jowl and ribs. It was super easy and I went exactly by the recipe; the only thing it needs is a good shake of hot sauce. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burkesville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States