Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is delicious! I made it today for our New Year's Day meal, but this would be great any time of the year, especially on a cold, winter evening. It's easy to prepare and would be a nice meal to bring to a potluck or party (would be easy to double or triple the quantiy). I found the long grain and wild rice mix (Near East brand) in Whole Foods Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Used Rotel instead of diced tomatoes - a bit spicy but my husband insists he wants it made the same way next time. He generally does not like soups, - but this was an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I thought this was excellent, and I hate black eyed peas. I made this for my boyfriend for New Year's because its his tradition, and I really liked it myself. It was very easy and quick to make, and it had a great flavor. I did change one thing, and that was to use 1 can of regular petite diced tomatoes and 1 can of green pepper, onion, and diced tomato mix. The broth of the soup was so tasty! Overall a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
On a 1/5 scale Hubby gave this a 10.5 stars. He loved it more than anything else I've cooked in a very long time. I took this to a church supper and this was the only dish that came home empty! My alterations included doubling the sausage, and adding 6 inches andouille sausage. I also added an extra pkg of wild rice I had on hand. While browning the sausage, I added two celery ribs, and chopped green onion. With this many canned veggies, I went low sodium - the broth, tomatos and beans were all lowest sodium I could find - and the broth was still VERY tasty. Cornbread on side. This goes into the rotation file, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made a double batch of this for New Year's Eve/ New Year's Day 2009 and now I am thinking I should have tripled the batch! My family of four loved it. Even my non-green eating husband enjoyed it and my picky eating 13 y.o. daughter had 3 consecutive servings. The only changes I made were: I used Polish style sausage link quartered and browned (I did NOT double this due to fat), added a green pepper, and garlic salt. Served with Glory Foods brand Southern Style Seasoned Collard Greens-- and this combo was freakin' awesome! Seasoned individual servings with hot sauce and/or diced jalepenos. We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe and will make it again. Also, in preparing my double batch, I inadvertently used 28 ounces of diced tomatoes rather than 56 ounces but they were never missed (and I love lots of tomatoes). Very aromatic & flavor- popping when combined with the Glory greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
it was tasty but better after i added some cumin, garlic powder, peppers and onions. I omitted the water and just cooked the rice in the broth for a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was absolutely the easiest and most delicious soup....my whole family enjoyed it and I'm telling all my friends....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Just like the hoppin john soup my aunt used to make. It was perfect and even my picky husband ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This recipe is so delicious and so easy, I have to give it 5 stars. I make a batch on Sunday and bring it for lunch all week. The sausage really gives it a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
My Grandmother who is 85 years old just told me about this old recipe that her dad use to fix her when she was a little girl. I searched and found it here! I made it for her last week and everyone just thought it was the greatest! I am fixing another pot tonight! I added a bit of crushed red pepper for a little zing!! Thanks for sharing with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States