Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a good way to clean out my fridge. I didn't have black-eyed peas, so I subbed chic peas and used 2 packs of the Rice-o-Roni Wild Rice & Wt Rice. There was no "roni" in these packages, as stated by another reviewer (which surprised me actually). Anywho--great taste and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Added chopped and sauted celery and onion; can of RoTel instead of one can of tomatoes; used chicken broth instead of water; used regular breakfast sausage; and used canned pinto beans (didn't have black-eyed peas). It was really good and filling. Better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Very good and very easy. I used frozen black eyed peas. Next time I'll probably make it in the slow cooker. This will become a standard in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bonnieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great Soup! I made this recipe for New Years Day. I'm from the south and my family's tradition is to eat black eyed peas for luck in the New Year. Even my skeptic guests loved this soup! Followed the recipe exact. I did use the garlic and onion flavored diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Delaware, USA
Living In: West Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Made some minor changes. Recipe served 8 well. Even guest who does not like tomato liked it. Doesn't taste like anything specific but is YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Made this for New Year's Day this year and it was very good (and easy). I cut the recipe in half and it still made 5 bowls. Because I like things spicy, I added cayenne pepper and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is delicious! I made it today for our New Year's Day meal, but this would be great any time of the year, especially on a cold, winter evening. It's easy to prepare and would be a nice meal to bring to a potluck or party (would be easy to double or triple the quantiy). I found the long grain and wild rice mix (Near East brand) in Whole Foods Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Used Rotel instead of diced tomatoes - a bit spicy but my husband insists he wants it made the same way next time. He generally does not like soups, - but this was an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I thought this was excellent, and I hate black eyed peas. I made this for my boyfriend for New Year's because its his tradition, and I really liked it myself. It was very easy and quick to make, and it had a great flavor. I did change one thing, and that was to use 1 can of regular petite diced tomatoes and 1 can of green pepper, onion, and diced tomato mix. The broth of the soup was so tasty! Overall a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
On a 1/5 scale Hubby gave this a 10.5 stars. He loved it more than anything else I've cooked in a very long time. I took this to a church supper and this was the only dish that came home empty! My alterations included doubling the sausage, and adding 6 inches andouille sausage. I also added an extra pkg of wild rice I had on hand. While browning the sausage, I added two celery ribs, and chopped green onion. With this many canned veggies, I went low sodium - the broth, tomatos and beans were all lowest sodium I could find - and the broth was still VERY tasty. Cornbread on side. This goes into the rotation file, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States