Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Made this today...perfect for a cold day. I added 2 cans of pinto beans, used 2 lbs of sage sausage, 2 T of minced onion. Certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN15

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very easy...I used leftover hoppin john from new year's day. Added 1 can of tomatoes, frozen chopped kale and some creole seasoning to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this is good! i added creole season,because thats all it needed. oh yeah and a spoon(LOL). enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I was wondering what I was going to do with the can of black eyed peas that I had in the cupboard and came across this recipe. Since I only had one can I also used one can of Kidney Beans. I decided to use about 3/4 lb of Kielbasa which I had in the frezzer and I needed to use it up, I also added some chopped lunchmeat ham I had in fridge, some bacon which I had cooked this morning,and at the very end I was preparing some Lasasgna and added some of the seasoned ground meat that I was using for the lasagna. I didn't use the seasoned rice I used jasmine (FAMILY FAV) and added two packages of sazon and 1 package of ham seasoning. I used one can of rotel tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes with jalepenos. I added some sofrito and black pepper, garlic powder, and I also sauted onions and celery with the kielbasa and ham, I used chicken broth and a little water only to thin it out a bit. I made cornbread to go with it... and served some freshly grated mozzarella on top.... This was so yummy and everyone enjoyed it! My husband had 3 bowls!!! My son and his friend gobbled it up too! This is a great recipe which can be adapted to almost any beans etc. Thanx for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was delicious! I made no changes and my husband I both thought it was amazing! Great way to bring in the new year. May have the little bit of leftovers for breakfast! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a good way to clean out my fridge. I didn't have black-eyed peas, so I subbed chic peas and used 2 packs of the Rice-o-Roni Wild Rice & Wt Rice. There was no "roni" in these packages, as stated by another reviewer (which surprised me actually). Anywho--great taste and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Added chopped and sauted celery and onion; can of RoTel instead of one can of tomatoes; used chicken broth instead of water; used regular breakfast sausage; and used canned pinto beans (didn't have black-eyed peas). It was really good and filling. Better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Very good and very easy. I used frozen black eyed peas. Next time I'll probably make it in the slow cooker. This will become a standard in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bonnieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great Soup! I made this recipe for New Years Day. I'm from the south and my family's tradition is to eat black eyed peas for luck in the New Year. Even my skeptic guests loved this soup! Followed the recipe exact. I did use the garlic and onion flavored diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Delaware, USA
Living In: West Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Made some minor changes. Recipe served 8 well. Even guest who does not like tomato liked it. Doesn't taste like anything specific but is YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States