Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've never had Hoppin' John Soup, but was more than happy to share some of this (since it makes a bunch) with some neighbors who are equally lame. We all loved it. I made some changes, but it doesn't matter what those were, because the basis of the original recipe is strong enough to let us play with it. Don't be afraid to use what you've got on hand. We'll do this again and again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Good & simple. I found myself longing for a bit more flavor. Maybe the sausage I bought didn't have enough seasoning??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Had to modify to fit ingred's on hand. We used spicy sausage and then tossed in some sage. Also added red pepper flakes and a dash of cayenne (we like spicy!). Added diced onion and celery, used 2 cans mild rotel and used water w/chicken boullion in place of one of the cans of chicken broth. Never had Hoppin John before so not sure what's "authentic", but we liked the tomatoes in it and this turned out great and it was done quick! Score!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is the best Hoppin' John that I have ever had. We liked it well enough to incorporate it into our rotation of winter menus. It is easy to prepare, and we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Momster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Cabin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very tasty and really makes a big pot! I used 2 cans of Glory brand low sodium blacked-eyed peas, 2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes, threw in slices of smoked turkey sausage and a large can of Glory brand collard greens. Didn't add the extra liquid because I cooked the rice separate, and had corn bread on the side. Excellent base to start and can do so much with this recipe! Thanks ThoHug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I doubled this recipe, except for the wild rice mix - and it was great. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because I would not double the rice mix in a double-recipe. The flavor of the seasoning packets would be too overbearing. I used Uncle Ben's and 1 box totally changed the flavor of the whole dish. Wasn't too sure I liked the flavor combination, but got rave reviews from others. None the less, this is a hearty soup, and worth taking the time to write a review. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
EXCELLENT! This soup has so much flavor! I added another pound of sausage, hominy, and another can of chicken broth just to make it more of what my family likes to eat. Besides that... I am definitely saving this recipe! Thanks for letting the new year start off with a bang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great and tastes. Modified with chopped celery and onions. Used frozen black eyed peas too. Will definitely make it before next New Years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We did a vegetarian version for some of our New Years guests. It turned out great and we just added a smoked tofurkey sausage to the side for them and smoked kielbasa for us. Served also with a side of cornbread and sautéed kale, topped with green onions, hot sauce, and sour cream. It really made for an easy, affordable, colorful, flavorful, and satisfying meal. The beans and rice mixture did just fine without the addition of the meat, all measurements kept the same as listed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Used Zatarain's Wild Brown Rice Mix & Jimmy Dean's sage sausage. Coupled it with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread by Bethany Weathersby off this site too and this meal couldn't be easier or tastier for my husband and four kids ages 4-11 on New Year's. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States