Quick Greek Pasta Salad with Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was delicious! My local grocery stores carry sun-dried tomato pesto in the deli and in the pasta sauce aisle (Classico makes a good one) so check both places in case you have trouble locating it. My husband loved this, I loved this, and the friends I made it for also loved it--you really can't go wrong! Next time, I'll use chicken instead of steak, but this is a recipe I'll make many more times in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Wow, where did this come from?!? Sun-dried tomato pesto? Strangely, I could only find it at Target. What a surprise! The mix of ingredients was heavenly! FLAT IRON STEAK WAS PERFECT...LESS PREP TOO. I DID CUT BACK THE OIL A BIT. Gimme more from this chef! THIS PICTURE DOES NOT REALLY LOOK LIKE THE DISH....AND THE SPINACH IS NOT PART OF A "SAUCE" it's part of the dish. i used the whole grain penne and LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I could not find sun-dried tomato pesto at the store so I made my own with a combination of minced sun-dried tomatoes and pesto paste. Not as good as the real thing I am sure but still very tasty! Made a few changes: Used NY Strip steaks instead of rib-eye (delicious!), sauteed the spinach in garlic and olive oil before adding to pasta. Omitted olives, added chopped onion and portabella mushroom to the steak instead of shallots. Used fresh grated parmesan cheese instead of feta. Definitely more of an italian taste than greek, but was very delicious! Much lighter than I had expected. I will make this again and keep experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was amazing--I was nervous about using sun-dried tomato pesto (we've never tried it) but it gave such a rich depth to the steak. When my husband came in he said it smelled like a restaurant. It was fun to make and unbelievably good with simple ingredients. I left out the olives and used asiago, romano & parmesan cheese instead of the feta, but I want to try it with feta. I had a bagged salad I needed to use, so I served the pasta/steak mixture on a bed of greens and it was so good, even down to the crunch of the sunflower seeds. Fantastic recipe Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I was amazed! Not only is it quick and easy but it made my mouth water. I work late but can still come home and make a great meal that everyone enjoys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I couldn't find the pesto, so I used julienned sundried tomatoes and just chopped them up finely. I also added more feta and seasoned the steak with salt, pepper, and Greek Seasoning (Penzeys.com). Wasn't in the mood for pasta, so tossed the meat into spinach leaves, chopped fresh tomato, cucumber, and pepperoncinis for a great warm salad (added a little red wine vinegar). Next time I'll use kalamata olives for more flavor. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
What a quick, wonderful dish! Whoa! The sun-dried tomato pesto sauce really did it. I look forward to seeing more recipe postings from this user.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was very good. The steak was a great addition, very different! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Photo by MaryTee
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is so good. I have made this twice already and love it! I leave out the black olives, but that is personal preference. Also, the only sun-dried tomato pesto I could find (after searching 3 supermarkets) is made by Classico. The jar is small, about half the size of typical spaghetti sauces, and will probably be on the top shelf. The pesto is amazing, making the dish to die for! Highly recommended...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Pretty Good! My husband enjoyed this as well. I would also like to try this with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States