Quick Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe I added pesto gouda cheese to the potato mixture along with Italian seasonings as some suggested. Freeze the cheese and grate it in. Served with tomato cream sauce.Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We have these alot, as I have never had any success making gnocchi from real potatoes, and I don't like store-bought. I had trouble the first few times with over-mixing the dough; I learned through trial and error to mix the ingredients until just combined, then dump the whole mess onto a floured board and "squish" it together with my hands until it can be rolled and cut. Too much flour is the kiss of death for gnocchi-btryetter to leave them just a tad sticky rather than add too much flour and turn them into gluey little bricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
These gnocchi are amazing....I should know bc I grew up in an Italian household and gnocchi were a real treat! I have made this recipe countless times and keep batches frozen in ziplock bags in my freezer. They take about a minute to cook, and I cannot even describe how much I enjoy them! I add sweet potato purée (half cup) and divide the flour half whole wheat half all purpose. They are a bit chewy this way but that's how I like them, and they are healthier too!!!!! Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I used less flour and added some Italian seasoning. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I eat tons of store bought gnocchi and the prices just went up dramatically so I wanted to give this a try. A lot of reviews talked about the texture...some said they were too doughy and some said they were too tough. I know to cook the gnocchi I buy you only need to allow them to float to get the dense chewy traditional texture but I actually prefer to boil them for a long time to get the fluffiest texture possible, most of the time. I found this recipe to actually be too soft and mushy, which is not the same. Also, many people commented on how bland these are but the ones I buy, all of them, are always really bland so I thought that was supposed to be the case so the gnocchi can be paired with pretty much any sauce flavor you like, kind of like couscous. I make everything from pesto sauce to cooking them in chicken broth and then using the broth to make a sauce so the starch from the pasta helps thicken the mixture. These were indeed very bland but that's how I like them. If I could figure out how to get the texture right, I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
i tried to make gnocchi without the egg the final product came out perfect enjoyed it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamaralynn
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Fantastic recipe!! Took me from start to finish 30 minutes to make with left over sauce. We like our gnocchi on the lighter side so only used 3/4 cup flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I must preface this review by saying I have never had gnocchi nor made it before. This is my first attempt. I must say that I like the end product although the process was a little confusing for me. I think the dough won't look like a bread dough but it would still work after you place it on a well floured surface. I think mine ended up a little tough because I kept kneading it and adding flour to it, expecting it to look like a bread dough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
OMG! I love gnocchi! This recipe is fast, simple, and delicious. Thank you for sharing. I made mine exactly as instructed with a creamy gorgonzola mushroom sauce, topped with grilled chicken. It was divine! Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
These were great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States