Quick Fudge Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
It is grainy no matter how long you cook on low to dissolve sugar and it does not taste like fudge icing to me. Will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Oh my word! This fudge frosting was absolutely mouthwatering! It was perfect for what I was making (Chinese cookies) and it tasted delicious. Like other reviewers advised, I cooked the mixture on Low until all the sugar was dissolved. As for my own changes, I added 1/4 cup of powdered sugar and decreased the white sugar to 3/4 cup. I think this may have given the frosting a slightly creamier taste. After taking the saucepan off heat, I whisked the frosting until it was cooled and my frosting came out thick and creamy, just like I wanted. I can see that, if you did not whisk as long, this recipe would also be great for a glaze. Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paradise, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It is a must to dissolve all the sugar prior to boiling. I wish I had doubled the recipe for my 9 x 13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I'd never made fudge icing before but wanted a fudgy type topping for my homemade brownies. This was very good on brownies. I stirred till thickened like the directions said then pour immediately over my pan of 13x9 brownies. I also read other reviews that said to cook on low til the sugar is desolved, that solved any grainy-ness problems. (similiar to cooking flour off when making roux). I will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I poured this, while still hot, over "Peanut Butter Squares" by Marilyn Hanson. YUMMMM YUM! I substitued coconut oil in place of the shortening, but otherwise followed the directions. Be sure to let the sugar dissolve over low heat BEFORE boiling. Thanks to all of those who suggested this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Not a nice fudgey icing for brownies. Not smooth & creamy. Don't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by watergirl40
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
In her description, Janice says "easy, quick, and good". I would re-phrase that to "easy, takes some time, and BEST FUDGE ICING IN THE WORLD." It IS easy, but as written in the negative reviews you can have a spectulactular failure with this type of sauce without some experience or better directions than are stated in the recipe. As other reviewers have noted, you must cook it slow and low [and you don't need to stir it at all at this stage or you might get some sugar on the upper part of the pot or on your spoon that doesn't get melted] until the sugar is completely dissolved. Other than not having enough instruction for beginners, the recipe is perfect as written. I used about 1/4 tsp salt and 2 tsp vanilla--just my preference [and, admittedly, my compulsion to NEVER follow a recipe exactly]. If you get tired of beating--it works just as well to beat til starting to thicken, then let cool most of the way, then finish beating to spreading consistency. Or if you want the ABSOLUTE BEST HOT FUDGE SAUCE YOU HAVE EVER HAD stop at the half way point and pore it over ice cream. I had people swooning out of their chairs when I had a sundae party and used this. This makes a glossy beautiful icing--very different from a buttercream frosting--but if you want a FUDGY icing you won't find a better one than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watergirl40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Tastes good. I followed others instructions and made sure sugar was dissolved before boiling. I also boiled it longer (5 minutes). Used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This does taste great but it is a glaze not an Icing. Even after trying to thicken it with corn starch and powder sugar and then refrigerating it too, it was still to thin to pipe. Also the color turns into a "spotted" brown and not a solid color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this to top Chinese cookies. I can't wait to try it on ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States