Quick Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
My husband LOVES this recipe! I'd prefer more candied fruit and less batter, but this one's a keeper. Brought it into work and everyone who likes fruitcake asked for the recipe. I've been looking for one that doesn't have to sit for weeks in cheesecloth, and this is it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
If you prefer a fruitcake that is more cake and less fruit, this is the perfect cake. It's moist and can be made ahead if desired. I use 5 mini breadpans for mine and it bakes in about 45 minutes. If you lay a piece of parchment in the bottom of the pan and spray with non-stick spray, cleaning up the pan is a breeze. Addendum to my review (12/28/07) The last few years, instead of using the candied fruits, I have used mixed dried fruits - apricots, dried cranberries, pineapple, apple, etc. and some candied cherries for color. It isn't a lot less calories, but it is at least a little healthier and we like it a lot that way. Just use scissors to snip the fruit into small pieces; dip the scissors in flour in periodically to keep the fruit from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Made this recipe exactly as written. Used a bundt pan and baked for two hours. It is delicious! My husband, a fruitcake connoisseur, absolutely loves it. It is so easy to make, I'll make it throughout the year, not just during the holidays. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This is the easiest recipe for fruitcake around. Everyone thinks you went to so much trouble and yet it is so easy. I usually use a 9" tube pan and bake for 3 hours and it always turns out great!! I highly recommend this recipe. No Fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
My mom asked that I bake her a fruitcake for Christmas without nuts since she is allergic. I added a cup of whole candied cherries in place of the nuts and it turned out GREAT! This has to be the easiest fruitcake recipe on the planet and it tastes terrific, too. My mom is 85 and is a wonderful cook, so I was so happy that she asked to take the whole cake home with her! Highly recommend this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Wadford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
My family doesn't like candided fruit. I soaked 2 cups of dried fruit, cut into bite sized peices, overnight in about 1 cup of rum. I follwed the rest of the recipe exactly. It was absolutely wonderful. Usually I have to take most of my dessert home with me, but not this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE8099

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is the fruitcake I have been making for 30+ years. Goes together quickly, and even people who don't like fruitcake usually like this one. The only bad part is when people ask you for the recipe and find you didn't work as hard making it as they thought you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very easy to make. We used candied cherries and chopped them in the food processor first (next time, we'll leave them whole). We also used almonds since our son is allergic to walnuts. The mincemeat we added had run and brandy already in it - delicious! We baked it for 2 hours in a Bundt pan, and it came out very well. My husband added an icing sugar glaze for the top, but this wasn't what it needed. Next time, we'll probably leave it plain, or dust with icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
There's nothing I like better than Christmas cake. The easier the better. I have a freezer full of homemade mincemeat to use and this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzybel57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tweed, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I lost this recipe when I "redid" my recipes files. Thanks to you, I now have it again. This is my husband's favorite fruitcake, and the easiest one for me to make. Thanx!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States