Quick Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
this recipe was easy to make. I love fruitcake,and hate the nuts in it,I think my next batch I will add a little brandy to it.The cake came out so easy with the parchment paper and it is soo moist! Thanks Allrecipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
There's nothing I like better than Christmas cake. The easier the better. I have a freezer full of homemade mincemeat to use and this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzybel57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tweed, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My family and I really loved this recipe! It was a last minute thought for Christmas. It was really easy and tasted just like my idea of a fruitcake. The mincemeat really gave it a great spice flavor. Lots of people done like the mincemeat but it really works here. I did add quite a bit more dried fruit to it. I had lots on hand. Really i added like 2 cups more fruit. The basic recipe it really versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I love fruitcake but never thought I could make one. This was great! This cake taste just like the ones you pay a fortune for at Collin Bakery mail order. The best recipes are the easiest as far as I am concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mportillo
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I used pecans versus walnuts and soaked with rum after cooling for a more moist cake. Much better than I remember. This is the same recipe that is listed on Eagle brand website. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is really different. I made 1/2 recipe or 1 loaf. It looks like and has the exact texture, even cutting wise, as a banana bread or similar sweet loaf bread. However, the flavor is that of a fruitcake. The recipe also called for mincemeat pie filling. I had thought it had apples, raisins, and spices. Never knew it actually had beef! That is just very strange to me. To top, with this recipe, I missed the dense super moist texture of a classic fruitcake. That was what I actually desired. I had thought they were cooked by a water method, or with some they sat so many days with a little liquor poured on them to make them moist. I had wondered how this would get the same texture or consistency without these processes. If looking for a fruitcake flavored sweet bread, that is ready quickly and is dry enough to cut within an hour of baking, this may be the recipe to choose. This was just really not for me and I hate that I wasted the ingredients as it will more likely get tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by ladydracene
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This cake was super easy and quick to put together...I left out walnuts...;-) not a nut in cake fan...I added 2tsp of Rum Flavoring & 1tsp of Almond extract...I used an Angel Food cake pan and lined with greased cut to fit brown paper bag (better than wax paper)...My friends who normally don't like Fruitcakes are fans now:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladydracene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I lost this recipe when I "redid" my recipes files. Thanks to you, I now have it again. This is my husband's favorite fruitcake, and the easiest one for me to make. Thanx!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This recipe is so easy and tastes so very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Perfect! Loved it because it doesn't have the candied fruit. This is wonderful! It didn't last either :) Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States