Quick Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I was about to post a similar recipe to this when I noticed your entry. I learned this recipe in my Home Ec class all the way back in middle school and I've cooked it ever since. Here are some important modifications I've learned that will solve some complaints about flavor problems. 1. Cook the peas separately and set them aside. 2. Cook the bacon in the pan, remove the bacon, and crumble. Leave the bacon grease in the pan. 3. Add ONIONS! I don't measure, just use common sense and add a proportional amount, chopped. 4. Fry the onions right in the bacon grease until they start to turn clear and slightly browned. Then add the (raw) chopped carrots and cook those for a few minutes. 5. At this point, I shove everything to one side with a spatula and cook the eggs right in the pan on the empty side. Less pans to deal with later and it's easy/fast. Scramble them in a separate bowl first, then pour in the pan. 6. Once the eggs are scrambled and chopped up, add the peas, bacon, and rice. 7. I don't measure the soy sauce I use, but it’s probably more than 2 tbs. I pour on until everything is well coated. This way you don't need to add salt - the soy sauce takes care of that. Hopefully these suggestions help. It's not authentic fried rice but it tastes awesome. I used to use vegetable oil but the bacon grease is already there and it tastes great (if a bit unhealthy... ah well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I never made fried rice before. It turned out great and delicious. It is so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Unfortunately no matter how much soy sauce we used, it didn't taste very good. :( Sorry, will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Good and quick for that fried rice/and or comfort food craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
These were good. My frozen veggies had carrot andn peas so I did not add anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is anything but quick but it was good although very dry. I would add a little beef or chicken broth to the last cooking stage. It was indeed very tasty and I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was delicious. I just used the bacon fat i had saved previously. No bacon. I used veggies i had in the fridge, left out the salt. We will have this OFTEN. Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
this dish was very bland not taste at all I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Good stuff! I made this with the Japenese Chicken Wings. Loved the flavor that the bacon gave everything. Instead of peas, I just used diced up carrots, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Thanks for the idea of how to cook a good dish. I did cook a variation. I did not use the bacon and I added some Indian spices to it. It turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States