Quick Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I was about to post a similar recipe to this when I noticed your entry. I learned this recipe in my Home Ec class all the way back in middle school and I've cooked it ever since. Here are some important modifications I've learned that will solve some complaints about flavor problems. 1. Cook the peas separately and set them aside. 2. Cook the bacon in the pan, remove the bacon, and crumble. Leave the bacon grease in the pan. 3. Add ONIONS! I don't measure, just use common sense and add a proportional amount, chopped. 4. Fry the onions right in the bacon grease until they start to turn clear and slightly browned. Then add the (raw) chopped carrots and cook those for a few minutes. 5. At this point, I shove everything to one side with a spatula and cook the eggs right in the pan on the empty side. Less pans to deal with later and it's easy/fast. Scramble them in a separate bowl first, then pour in the pan. 6. Once the eggs are scrambled and chopped up, add the peas, bacon, and rice. 7. I don't measure the soy sauce I use, but it’s probably more than 2 tbs. I pour on until everything is well coated. This way you don't need to add salt - the soy sauce takes care of that. Hopefully these suggestions help. It's not authentic fried rice but it tastes awesome. I used to use vegetable oil but the bacon grease is already there and it tastes great (if a bit unhealthy... ah well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Tasty, although I did make the following changes: I omitted the salt, bacon and mixed veggies, used small frozen peas in place of the snow peas an increased the amount of soy sauce. I also added scallions and fresh minced garlic. I think the addition of some chopped onion would be good as well. The egg can be cooked at the same time the rice is cooking. Simply push the rice to one side, drop in egg and scramble, then mix all ingredients together. My husband commented several times at dinner how good the rice was. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Not authentic rice but VERY good! We all loved this! I used just one bag of frozen broccoli stir fry veggies to avoid chopping, which had broccoli, onions, mushrooms, celery, red peppers and water chesnuts and cooked them in the mircowave. I used only 3 cups of cooked rice and when it came time to add the rice to the bacon grease, I added the veggies, soy sauce and bacon all at once. Right before serving, I added the scrambled eggs. It DOES take up a lot of dishes to make this but everyone in my family loved it and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This was good. Ommited the bacon and added some fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I throughly enjoyed this rice. The secret is using cold rice. Cooking it in the bacon grease gave it tons of flavor. I'm giong to make it again tonight with mixed vegetable instead of just peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Until now, I was over-confident thinking that my homemade fried rice recipe was the best. This was great!! I did reduce the soy sauce a little, upped the amount of rice and added veggies I like (bean sprouts, broccoli, mushrooms, pea pods and red bell peppers). This recipe can easily be adjusted! Great base for you to be creative! Out goes my old recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
This bacon-fried rice is really good. I would add less vegetables, though. I found that it became veggies with rice instead of rice with veggies. Tastes great, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I had leftover peas and carrots and needed a quick recipe using on-hand ingredients. This was easy and inexpensive. I agreed with many other reviewers that it was lacking in flavor but I also didn't add much soy sauce while cooking. Because I anticipated "blandness" I cooked the rice in chicken broth instead of water so this probably helped. I was tempted to give it a 5 because my often picky toddler LOVED it!! A quiet, struggle-free meal is worth every effort in the kitchen. Thank you!! We'll keep this in the rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This was quick. I think my only complant is you have to use so many pans to prepare it. The taste was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Pretty tasty and with cold leftover rice, this is a easy recipe! I made it all in one big non-stick pan, never taking anything out! I fried up bacon, leaving half the grease then added the cold leftover rice, breaking up as it heated. Next added the eggs ontop of rice and working it in; threw in veggies. Let cook about 4-5 minutes until veggetables and eggs are done. I seasoned with galic salt hot tabasco for some kick. Who ever wanted soy sauce added it to their own rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States