Quick Egg Roll Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
My two star rating is for the sauce as is. Here is my advice: Cut the vinegar to one tablespoon! This sauce will make you pucker if made as written, the vinegar takes over the taste of anything you put it on! Then add one tablespoon of white sugar or honey. Now you've got a dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
WOAH HOLY VINEGAR BATMAN! The vinegar is just too much, I even added some honey to cut it and it's still way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I do prefer sweet and sour sauce with my egg rolls, but I thought that this was a tasty alternative that made for a nice change of pace. Wouldn't this also make a good marinade for grilled chicken and pork or tofu???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Loved this sauce! I taught an Egg Roll making class last week and we made 3 different dipping sauces, and this one was everyone's favorite! Super easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScrapTiffany

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seldovia, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Made this to go with homemade crab wontons. The sauce was great. Instead of onion powder, I used green onion and I used balsamic rice vinegar. It really had a nice balance. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Excellent. I added 2 T. of brown sugar and doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Was ok. Better then not having a dipping sauce. Quick & easy! If you don't like vinegar much, you may want to skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Very good... I didn't have the onion but it still tasted good! Also for people complaining about the vinegar, Mirin (sweet cooking wine) is a great substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lconnick
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great dipping sauce! I needed a super-quick sauce for egg rolls and this literally took about a minute to toss together. I'd just run out of rice vinegar so I substituted plain white vinegar instead and it was still great! Also, some of us put some sriracha sauce in to heat it up... good with or without. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was simple, but it was too salty and vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States