Quick Creamy Spinach and Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is quick and easy! When ever I see "bland" comments I go right to the garlic. I pressed 2 large garlic cloves(could have done 3. but I like garlic a lot) into aprox 2 tbls of olive oil with salt and Italian seasoning mixed in a jar. Then I strained the oil out into frying pan and sautade half an onion. I put the left over garlic in with the spinach (I do this so I dont over cook the garlic yet the oil still gives the onions a great taste. I could almost eat them plain like this.) to wait for mixing with tomatoes and onions when the onions are done. Other then doubling the pesto I followed the rest of directions and it turned out wonderful! Next time to make it more saucy I may almost double the tomatoe and sour cream and triple the pesto and add more garlic onion salt and Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made this for dinner last week and followed some of the suggestions of others by adding diced chicken breasts, i put as much spinach as I could fit in the pan, and I added a few dashes of crushed red peppers. It was really really good and my Fiancee really enjoyed it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Rather bland. I put in some dried oregano, garlic powder, and ground red pepper like some others had suggested and it was still pretty flavorless. I'd suggest pine nuts though. My husband makes something similar to this with pine nuts and it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
A great go to when out of ingredients. I didn't have sour cream or pesto. In its place I sauteed some garlic in evoo, added a few shakes of basil, salt, and used Hellmann's mayo instead of sour cream. Definitely can use more spinach. I also added grated romano for a nice kick. My 2YO ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
loved this one it was quick and easy! I did add crushed red pepper flakes, 2 cloves of garlic, red wine, and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike malo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
tuna makes this dish delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
It sounded good and thought I'd make it for my husband for dinner and when I added the sour cream, it looked like spinach tomato soup. I added a small amount if oregano like someone else suggested. Anyways, I didn't look very appetizing and when we both tasted it, we did not care for it! Sorry, not for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccrock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is super easy & very good! My husband & I love it & it's a great, tasty dinner on nights when i don't really feel like cooking. We followed pp's advice, & added as much spinach as we could fit in the pot, & a little bit of dried red peppers.... mmmmmm, good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
It was really good, but I used fresh tomatoes, which made the sauce really watery. The recipe seemed bland so I also added in some cubes of chicken, some garlic, fresh basil, and nutmeg. Next time I'll try it with less tomatoes, or with canned tomatoes like the recipe called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
very yummy, ate so much i have a stomach ache. substituted kale for spinach and heavy cream for sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States