Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I did change it up just a bit. I used 1 can of chicken broth and added just enough water to cover the potatoes to cook them. Most of the liquid cooks off during cook time. I didn't put the onions in. Then I used 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of cream of celery soup with 2 cans of milk. Salt and pepper to taste. Cook it up and eat it up! Oh, green onions and bacon crumbles on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Great recipe. .. i didnt have alit of the ingredients like bacon so i used turkey bacon and i alsoI added sour cream and cheese to the mix just cause i love cheese...came out perfectly. Definitely making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This has become one of my go to recipes. Husband and all his buddies love it. I use red potatoes and red onion, as the red potatoes have a naturally more buttery flavor and smoother texture, and the red skins and red onion add extra pops of color. Also, I use half and half instead of milk for extra creamy texture. If my soup is to thick, I use reduced sodium chicken broth to help thin it a bit. Some helpful tips: make sure you cook your potatoes until ALMOST done. If you cook them fully, they will likely become over done when you add them to the soup and will fall apart. Also, don't forget to season the potatoes before adding them. The only other thing I do differently, is I add the Dill to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I have tried this recipe Quick Creamy Potato Soup, and loved it. However this is what I had to do when i was hit with a drastic change in diet. I take either fresh or frozen cauliflower and boil it. I add a potato or two. When it is cooked I use my paddle and puree it. I add savory as a seasoning but you can use anything. I also added northern beans. No sodium. Now I use this for all creamed soups. This recipe was my inspiration to find foods that I can eat. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Tried this tonight. I left out the onions and used oscar meyer bacon pieces. Pretty much cooked the potatoes, added the condensed soup mixed with a lil water to make it smoother. I didn't drain my potatoes, just added the soup mix & sum shredded cheddar that. Let it a all warm together for about 5 min. Then we added bacon pieces & more shredded cheese. yyuuuumm. even my 4 yr old loved it & he won't usually eat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very good. I think the combination of having a little too much water and skim milk made it a tad thinner than I'd prefer, but it was very good anyway, and I may even put this in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good directions and potato soup. I added an extra cup of potatoes along with a teaspoon of chicken buillon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Oh!!!! I love this recipe. I used real bacon bits instead of frying bacon and also used russet potatoes,its more creamy. My whole family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really like this recipe. Changes I made were to salt the water I cooked the potatoes in and then to completely drain off the water. I added the soups and added 1 and 1/2 can of milk instead of 2 and 1/2 cups to make a thicker soup. Next time I will make 1 can of the soup low sodium, but the potatoes really need to boil in the salted water, unless you make the soup the day before and serve it the next day or the potatoes will have no flavor. I made it with and without bacon and liked it both ways. Next time I will add a cup of chopped ham to try it out that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States