Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This has become one of my go to recipes. Husband and all his buddies love it. I use red potatoes and red onion, as the red potatoes have a naturally more buttery flavor and smoother texture, and the red skins and red onion add extra pops of color. Also, I use half and half instead of milk for extra creamy texture. If my soup is to thick, I use reduced sodium chicken broth to help thin it a bit. Some helpful tips: make sure you cook your potatoes until ALMOST done. If you cook them fully, they will likely become over done when you add them to the soup and will fall apart. Also, don't forget to season the potatoes before adding them. The only other thing I do differently, is I add the Dill to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I have tried this recipe Quick Creamy Potato Soup, and loved it. However this is what I had to do when i was hit with a drastic change in diet. I take either fresh or frozen cauliflower and boil it. I add a potato or two. When it is cooked I use my paddle and puree it. I add savory as a seasoning but you can use anything. I also added northern beans. No sodium. Now I use this for all creamed soups. This recipe was my inspiration to find foods that I can eat. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Tried this tonight. I left out the onions and used oscar meyer bacon pieces. Pretty much cooked the potatoes, added the condensed soup mixed with a lil water to make it smoother. I didn't drain my potatoes, just added the soup mix & sum shredded cheddar that. Let it a all warm together for about 5 min. Then we added bacon pieces & more shredded cheese. yyuuuumm. even my 4 yr old loved it & he won't usually eat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very good. I think the combination of having a little too much water and skim milk made it a tad thinner than I'd prefer, but it was very good anyway, and I may even put this in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good directions and potato soup. I added an extra cup of potatoes along with a teaspoon of chicken buillon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Oh!!!! I love this recipe. I used real bacon bits instead of frying bacon and also used russet potatoes,its more creamy. My whole family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really like this recipe. Changes I made were to salt the water I cooked the potatoes in and then to completely drain off the water. I added the soups and added 1 and 1/2 can of milk instead of 2 and 1/2 cups to make a thicker soup. Next time I will make 1 can of the soup low sodium, but the potatoes really need to boil in the salted water, unless you make the soup the day before and serve it the next day or the potatoes will have no flavor. I made it with and without bacon and liked it both ways. Next time I will add a cup of chopped ham to try it out that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I loved the simplicity of this recipe. Didn't change anything! It was great for lunch and dinner, served with fresh, warm baked bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is awesome. I've never made potato soup before but this recipe was easy to follow and the flavor was incredible. The only thing I added was some minced garlic and celery when sauteing the onion. Thanks for the post. I will be making frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States